General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Wwiillburr Wwiillburr is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default Terminal as Desktop Background - 12-06-2009, 03:54 AM

On my linux box, I have a terminal set up to run in my desktop background. Does anyone know how to go about this on OS X?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
paxswill paxswill is offline
Member
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: US
Default 12-06-2009, 05:01 AM

No on the interactive terminal, but GeekTool can overlay the results of commands on your desktop, refreshing them at set intervals. Some things I use it for (on my larger machine, I try to keep my Mini fairly clear) are for overlaying the next couple of days from iCal (via icalBuddy), and keeping tabs on a server I keep back home.


Vostro A90 1.6GHz/2GB/32GB SuperTalent 10.6.6
Mid 2009 MacBook Pro 2.8GHz/4GB/1TB+500GB, 10.6+Win7
Mini 1012 1.66GHz/1GB/160GB Win7 Pro
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
ian ian is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 143
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 12-07-2009, 11:59 AM

Geektool has already been mentioned and is great for displaying output from commands.

I also used something called Visor (visor:visor [docs]) for a while. It's not what you're asking for, but it lets you define a hotkey which slides down a terminal window from under the menu bar (and slide it back again). Might give you what you need. Note that I haven't used it for a long time and don't know how up to date it is or whether it runs on Snow Leopard.

Another possibility might be Quicksilver - it's an application launcher (plus a load of other things). This would let you quickly start up a terminal. For example, I would open the Quicksilver window with a hotkey, then hit '.' (for text entry), then type in my command (e.g. ifconfig), then hit tab, then hit 'r' (to "run in terminal") and finally hit return. That takes a lot less time to do than to describe. Quicksilver would then open up terminal and run my command in it.

I know the above aren't what you are asking for, but they might give you some of the functionality you are after.

EDIT ... sorry just thought of another possibility. You could set up your preferences in terminal to make the background transparent, then run it all the time. You'd have issues with it coming to the front, but it might be a 80% solution for you.


Dell Mini 9 | OS X 10.5.8 | DellEFI 1.2a5 | BIOS A05 | 16GB STEC SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Is SD card slot functional in OSX? | Problems with method 2. »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.