General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Senior Member
 
SkyWriter's Avatar
 
Posts: 354
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default connecting to non-broadcasting WIFI SSID - 08-06-2009, 12:36 AM

so i've always had this problem with WIFI and OSX.

at our company we have a non-broadcasting Infrastructure SSID and an Ad-Hoc broadcasting SSID with the same SSID operative concurrently. if you connect to the ad-hoc network in network preferences you get connected to nothing operational. if you key in the name of the SSID in "join other networks" in network preferences you sometimes can get the infrastructure network, and it works. i set up a work friend of mine with an DM9 and he is always able to get onto the right network. for me it fails more often than not depending on where i am in the facility.

it there a way to force connecting to a specific network type? can i force osx to ignore ad-hoc networks? is there a better tool to control connecting to wifi networks that would show you which type of networks are available?

unfortunately the network is deliberately setup this way and not going to change.


White Mini 9 | OSX 10.5.8 | A04 | DellEFI 1.2a5 | 2GB | 64GB RunCore Pro IV | 32GB C6 Transcend | 1.3Mpix | MDD extended battery | OEM BT | Fusion 2.0.4 | 1505 Draft-N

Problems with external displays or projectors in OS X? Try MirrorDisplays2! http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/mac-...html#post73180
Got Static? http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/gene...io-static.html
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Senior Member
 
SkyWriter's Avatar
 
Posts: 354
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 09-16-2009, 01:19 AM

bumpity bump


White Mini 9 | OSX 10.5.8 | A04 | DellEFI 1.2a5 | 2GB | 64GB RunCore Pro IV | 32GB C6 Transcend | 1.3Mpix | MDD extended battery | OEM BT | Fusion 2.0.4 | 1505 Draft-N

Problems with external displays or projectors in OS X? Try MirrorDisplays2! http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/mac-...html#post73180
Got Static? http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/gene...io-static.html
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Senior Member
 
TheDoctah's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Default 09-16-2009, 03:37 AM

Interesting scenario there...

Do both of the networks use the same password as well?

If they do have different passwords, you can just ensure that you erase the password from your keychain for the broadcasting network, so it will never try to associate with it. Or you can leave both in there but in your Airport properties page under advanced network settings... There is an option to drag the order of networks you wish to connect in. Ensure your non-broadcasting network is at the top of that list.

If you're only distinction is that its Ad-Hoc vs. Infrastructure...with the same exact passwords for both (even if its blank) I'm not sure if there is much you can do about it... maybe someone else can offer advice...

If you do figure this out, please report back. I am intrigued...


Cherry Red Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | 0.3 MP Webcam
BIOS A06 | 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Senior Member
 
SkyWriter's Avatar
 
Posts: 354
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 09-16-2009, 10:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDoctah View Post
If you're only distinction is that its Ad-Hoc vs. Infrastructure...with the same exact passwords for both (even if its blank) I'm not sure if there is much you can do about it... maybe someone else can offer advice...
both networks are unsecured. we use RSA authentication to further access the real network. if you connect to the Ad Hoc network you get DHCP with a dummy address. i've done everything possible with network preferences (setting network order, entering network names, etc...) nothing is 'fool proof'. in some areas of the network it just won't connect to the infrastructure network instead of the Ad Hoc device. meanwhile the XP pc works fine.

i'm wondering if there is some terminal setting i could do to make it ignore network devices.


White Mini 9 | OSX 10.5.8 | A04 | DellEFI 1.2a5 | 2GB | 64GB RunCore Pro IV | 32GB C6 Transcend | 1.3Mpix | MDD extended battery | OEM BT | Fusion 2.0.4 | 1505 Draft-N

Problems with external displays or projectors in OS X? Try MirrorDisplays2! http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/mac-...html#post73180
Got Static? http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/gene...io-static.html
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Senior Member
 
TheDoctah's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Default 09-16-2009, 02:53 PM

Did some digging since this scenario interests me.

I found this. Try it out...seems to do exactly what you need it to do!

iStumbler Help: Airport Plugin


Cherry Red Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | 0.3 MP Webcam
BIOS A06 | 10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Senior Member
 
SkyWriter's Avatar
 
Posts: 354
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 09-16-2009, 09:30 PM

ah, good idea! i had goofed around with it months ago, but not for this problem. i'll give it a shot tomorrow!


White Mini 9 | OSX 10.5.8 | A04 | DellEFI 1.2a5 | 2GB | 64GB RunCore Pro IV | 32GB C6 Transcend | 1.3Mpix | MDD extended battery | OEM BT | Fusion 2.0.4 | 1505 Draft-N

Problems with external displays or projectors in OS X? Try MirrorDisplays2! http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/mac-...html#post73180
Got Static? http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/gene...io-static.html
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Senior Member
 
SkyWriter's Avatar
 
Posts: 354
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 09-17-2009, 12:19 PM

good news! it worked

i went around to all the troublesome conferences and areas where i had a problem, and now i can select the correct network every time. i configured it to ignore Ad-Hoc networks for connections and it picked the right network now. it sees like the problem areas had Ad-Hoc network entries with a higher signal level than the Infrastructure (Managed) entries all of the same name and unsecure (open).

neat! thanks!


White Mini 9 | OSX 10.5.8 | A04 | DellEFI 1.2a5 | 2GB | 64GB RunCore Pro IV | 32GB C6 Transcend | 1.3Mpix | MDD extended battery | OEM BT | Fusion 2.0.4 | 1505 Draft-N

Problems with external displays or projectors in OS X? Try MirrorDisplays2! http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/mac-...html#post73180
Got Static? http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/gene...io-static.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

« How can my mini 9 get QE/CI supported? | Is this legal?? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Copyright © 2008-2011 MyDellMini.com.