General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Fat Tony Fat Tony is offline
Posts: 45
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Exclamation ./java: Bad CPU type in executable - 07-29-2009, 12:52 PM

Ok, I know many of you have "successfully" updated your Java to 1.6 (6.0) Update 4, but have you actually TRIED it?

First test, type this in a terminal: "java -version" and see if it is really running 1.6, mine shows 1.5

Second test, cd on over to /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.6.0/Home/bin and type "./java -version"

I get the following error "./java: Bad CPU type in executable"

so... anyone else get the same results? Anyone have a clue on how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
ian ian is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 07-29-2009, 01:58 PM

Java SE 6 is only for 64-bit architectures (see About Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Update 2) which is, I guess, why you get 1.5 from the terminal and you get the "bad CPU" message when you try and run it directly.

If I open the Java preferences app, then it doesn't give me 6.0 as an option (only 5.0 and 1.42). Which is (I assume) why the java -version command shows 1.5 rather than 1.6.

If you want a 32-bit version, you could try SoyLatte (SoyLatte - Port of BSD Java). They have a 32-bit version of JDK. Not exactly sure of the origin of it, but seems to be a FreeBSD port and now rolled into OpenJDK.

I guess that once you download this you can do some clever stuff with symbolic links to make OSX think it's their version. Or maybe not. I guess it depends what you want to do.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Fat Tony Fat Tony is offline
Posts: 45
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default 07-29-2009, 02:41 PM

I might have to play with that then. My need for 1.6 is because I have the Ubiquiti Airview2 which requires Java 1.6

Ubiquiti Networks, Inc. - Products

OS X/Dell Mini 9/Airview2 is a great combo for doing site maps
Reply With Quote

« Hung after trying to enable bluetooth | Parallels Desktop & Dell Mobile Broadband »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016