General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Posts: n/a
Default Is 1G sufficient for OS X? - 07-14-2009, 02:05 AM

I'm tempted to buy a Mini 10v, but wanted to know if 1G is enough to run OS X on the Mini, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
TchnclFl TchnclFl is offline
Senior Member
TchnclFl's Avatar
Posts: 130
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Send a message via AIM to TchnclFl
Default 07-14-2009, 02:10 AM

I think technically it would work, but I wouldn't recommend trying it with less than two gigs. You can get 2 gigs on ebay for less than thirty bucks; it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Posts: n/a
Default 07-14-2009, 02:39 AM

Okay, I'll ask my brother to do it for me, saw a video and it looks so hard to do. lol

My other last question is about menus, can you see the entire menu of the OS when running it? I've come across some articles howviewing things in full screen is a little problem - besides the audio.

thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
unclemiltie unclemiltie is offline
Posts: 97
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco BayArea
Send a message via Skype™ to unclemiltie
Default 07-14-2009, 02:52 AM

I had 1G in my mini9 for quite a while and only recently upgraded to 2G since there was a deal on the memory that I couldn't pass up (2x2G for $29, I used one in the min and one in my MacBook Pro)

But it was working just fine with MacOS X 10.5.7 and the entire Microsoft Office 2008 suite loaded.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
adamgs adamgs is offline
Posts: 36
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 07-14-2009, 03:02 AM

Im running OSX on 1gb now...runs fantastically.

As long as you dont expect a netbook to do something a netbook shouldnt be doing...OSX 10.5 when first released came on Macs with only 1gb standard so there is no reason why it wouldnt run on a Mini9 with 1gb.

EDIT Sorry, meant 10v
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
mrintegra mrintegra is offline
Posts: 57
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default 07-14-2009, 03:18 AM

I am currently running my N280 10v on 1GB of 533Mhz RAM and it seems to be working alright. However, that will soon change since I will be upgrading soon to 2GB 667Mhz.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
antar05 antar05 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Default 07-17-2009, 12:00 PM

OSX is designed to run on FAR less.

I have Leopard running on an iMac G4 1GHz PPC, 768MB of RAM (the maximum possible without having some soldering skillz), and it runs fine. Furthermore, it ran fine with 512MB before I upgraded it!

Unless you're doing some hard core multimedia editing (which you would be doing why, exactly, at 1024x600 resolution?), 1GB will almost certainly be sufficient.

Of course, almost ANY system will run BETTER with 2GB of RAM rather than 1GB, but considering how nasty the upgrade is...
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
soul soul is offline
Senior Member
soul's Avatar
Posts: 181
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 07-17-2009, 07:13 PM

Nope 1G is all you need

Mini 10V | 1.6GHz | 2GB | 16GB SSD | GMA 950 | OSX | ~$180ish | Wireless-N | 6-Cell |
M1340 | 2.4GHz x2 | 4GB | 320GB 7.2K-RPM | Nvidia SLi 9400M + 9200GS | 7-RTM | $500.00 | WEI: 5.3 |
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
JustAMacUser JustAMacUser is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 07-18-2009, 02:08 AM

Like others are saying, OS X runs fine with only 1 GB of RAM. I'm using my Mini 9 with 1 GB and it works great.

I suggest trying it with 1 GB to see if it works fine for you. If you find your workflow is causing a lot of memory pages (as noted in the Activity Monitor) then spend the extra $30 to upgrade. But really there's no point in investing the extra money unless you know you'll need it.
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
kommissar kommissar is offline
Posts: 91
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-18-2009, 04:35 AM

if you guys are near a fry's (left coasties) i got a 2G stick for $25 less $10 online rebate. i'm in orygun, btw.
Reply With Quote

« Cannot connect to Livebox (XBox) with airport | A90 + External Monitor = jumbled mess »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016