General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Omzz Omzz is offline
Junior Member
 
Omzz's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2009
Default Music Production - 06-02-2009, 04:09 PM

Anyone use their Mini for making music? Been making music for a number of years now (usually on PC or Mac) and am actually surprised at how well the Mini can cope. I've made a few on the Mini with OS X and it seems nice stable mobile production machine. Definitely good for when your bored in a plane or stuck in traffic.

Sky High (No Vocals):
http://www.fusionise.com/music/Sky%20High.mp3

Sky High (Japanese Version):
http://www.fusionise.com/music/Sky%2...20Japanese.mp3
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
r3dr0v3r r3dr0v3r is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-02-2009, 05:26 PM

What programs do you use (for Mac or PC)? I installed OS X on my friends Acer Aspire One a while back and he hooked up his keyboard to it with a MIDI cable and was able to whip something up in GarageBand.


Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | BIOS A04 | 1.3 MP Webcam
4 GB SSD with Ubuntu 9.04 Netbook Remix | 32 GB Runcore SSD with Mac OS 10.5.7
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Omzz Omzz is offline
Junior Member
 
Omzz's Avatar
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2009
Default 06-02-2009, 08:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by r3dr0v3r View Post
What programs do you use (for Mac or PC)? I installed OS X on my friends Acer Aspire One a while back and he hooked up his keyboard to it with a MIDI cable and was able to whip something up in GarageBand.
I usually use Reason for production and Adobe Audition for the editing but I'm finding Reason really restricted now. Like it doesn't do what I want it to do sometimes. When I first hit Reason up (started on Fruity Loops) I was wow'ing over the possibilities it unlocked compared to FL at the time. Now it's like 'meh'. But yeah I use reason and have used a bit of Logic Pro (which I really like) so I know my way around that too.

Garageband is really good for beginners, especially the latest one. I loved it when I used it a few months back, has the main stuff needed for production with the 'no nonsense' view to it. Very easy to use.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
sputy sputy is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2009
Default 06-09-2009, 06:35 AM

I use Logic Pro on m Mini9 with a M-Audio Quattro card and its great for 4 track portable recording.

The mini9 hasn't the power for running lots of plugins realtime but I can mix down on my hackingtosh home PC.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
asylumweb asylumweb is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 06-25-2009, 10:14 PM

Can I ask if Logic opens ok on the 9. I understood it needed more pixels than the screen allows? Does the screen scaling work or are you using a second screen?

Wondering if you have ever tried mainstage?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

« New Member- A few Dell Mini 10 Questions | off topic; garmin 700 series gps »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.