General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

(#1) Old

Default What do you use your netbook for? - 04-27-2009, 09:47 PM

Why'd you buy it? What made you interested in a netbook in the first place?

I bought mine, because I'm a student who's barely making it by with part time jobs, so I needed a cheap computer to write out papers and get online. Seems to be the best use of my money for the time being.
  (#2) Old
Retired Mini user

Default Re: What do you use your netbook for? - 04-27-2009, 11:09 PM

I wanted a laptop in my backpack that was a few pounds lighter. All I need it for is basic stuff: web browsing, chat, occasional Office documents, programming routers and switches.

I'm not playing Crysis on it, I'm not crunching protein matrices on it. Simple stuff.

Getting an iPad
  (#3) Old
Super Moderator

Default Re: What do you use your netbook for? - 04-27-2009, 11:23 PM

Learning OS X. Learning W7. Great for portability for basic stuff (email, Internet, work docs). Also great for configuring routers and such, much easier to carry than my full-sized laptop.

Alienware M11xR2 - Core i5 1.06 - 4 GB - 250 GB HD

Triple Boot Guide - 10v RAM Upgrade Videos - mechdrew's OSX guides
  (#4) Old

Default Re: What do you use your netbook for? - 04-28-2009, 12:11 AM

Wanted a cheap Mac. The Mac Mini is stupidly over priced.

Anywhere I go I bring a bluetooth mouse, which works incedibly good, and I leave an Apple bluetooth wireless keyboard at my PC station at home. Therefore some of the limitations, I'm not really experiencing.

I use Warcraft on it - only for basic chatting, setting up and rearranging raids, but it can be used for basic farming/grinding/questing too.

I'm doing our guild web page on it with iWeb, and it looks lovely so far, far better than the CMS-based nonsense we currently have.

Via Wifi I'm finally sorting properly 16GB of photos stored on my PC HD, using iPhoto. No decent PC package that I could find which works as nicely.