General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

(#1) Old

Default Yet another good thing about the Mini 9 - 02-25-2009, 09:48 PM

I am a tennis blogger, and I watch a lot of matches. I have a subscription to Tennis TV, which is high-def. The screen it watchable, but kind of small. If I enlarge it on our huge desktop monitor, it looks terrible, and it also doesn't look so hot enlarged on our 15-inch notebook. But on the Mini, the enlarged screen preserves most of the high-def quality. I can now watch matches on a reasonable screen and still get sharp video. I can also watch in my office, etc. For me, this is a real plus, and one of the things I'm enjoying most about the Mini 9.
  (#2) Old

Default Re: Yet another good thing about the Mini 9 - 02-25-2009, 10:07 PM

so I guess bigger ISN'T always better! hahaha

-WarMachine
Mini 9 - Obsidian Black - mini XP Pro
32G SSD - 2G ram - 1.3M webcam
  (#3) Old

Default Re: Yet another good thing about the Mini 9 - 02-27-2009, 03:34 AM

Well said!
  (#4) Old

Default Re: Yet another good thing about the Mini 9 - 02-27-2009, 07:34 AM

Years ago I decided to convert my entire DVD collection to XviD videos so that it'd be easy to load them up on a laptop or stream them over my network anytime I had the inkling. However, with all the HD content I've experienced in the years since, I'm turned off to the idea of watching the relatively low-quality XviDs on large screens (I compressed most down to 700mb for a 2-hour movie, which isn't awful but it's not great) so they've mostly sat unwatched... If I want to watch one I load the actual DVD into an upconverting player... But I loaded some of them on my Mini 9 last night and they look GREAT. I'm thinking I'll probably take an old laptop HDD in an enclosure and put them all on there so I can slip it in my case if I'm ever travelling. It worked out beautifully. I can even fit all of my real favorites on a 16GB SDHC card and they'll run fine from there.
  (#5) Old