General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default HELP! No OS for the Noobie! - 09-21-2011, 06:00 PM

Hi, all!

HELP!

I just got a Mini10v off Ebay and seller said it had an OS when it was sent...

I turn the computer on and it displays the "dos-looking" startup, then says

PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PCE ROM.
Operating system not found.

Apparently this thing has been worked on because it supposedly has 2GB and 1 R418N SSD, 16GB, S2, 2.5 Samsung, RBXM

(Is there a way to check this without opening machine? Can't return it if I open machine.)

Can I assume the SATA2 just got loose or is SSD is messed up.

Should I just send it back or easy fix?


MiniTenV

Last edited by MTV; 09-21-2011 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 09-21-2011, 06:19 PM

Does the BIOS show the SSD under "Hard disk" (or something like that)? If not, then the SSD is either missing or has come loose (unlikely) or is bad.

You can download a "Live Linux" distribution to a USB flash memory stick and boot from that. You could then see if it can detect the SSD.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-21-2011, 11:15 PM

I tried pressing F2 and F12 at startup. No difference.
How do I find the BIOS. Been using Macs for a while now and forgotten how it was like to have a PC.
Will download linux live as you said, Steve. Thanks for your input
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
lswartz lswartz is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 479
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Default 09-21-2011, 11:57 PM

F2 works on my son's Mini 10v. Push & hold the F2 key right after you push the power key. That should get you into the BIOS. Release F2 after you get the BIOS screen,only takes 5 seconds or so.

Good luck.

Are you planning on loading OSX on it?


| Dell Mini 10v | Linux Lite |
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-22-2011, 06:13 AM

Thank you, Iswartz. I had mistakenly assumed to press Fn to hit function keys.

Here's a few questions for you all...
Bios Version: A03 I thought it was supposed to be A06?
CPU type: N280 Speed: 1600Mhz. I thought it was supposed to be 1.66

Extended Memory: 1014Mb. Seller insisted it had 2Gb. Could the motherboard be bad?

So tell me again, why should/can't I just send this thing back and get another one?

Oh, the N280... Is uniqueness/extra speed worth it?
Was planning to replace HD with 128gb ssd
but if I also have to upgrade memory to 2gb that could be a BYTE more than am willing to pay.

Was wondering about OSX because I'm really missing my 12" G4 right now. But we still do have a few Macs around...

Still hoping we can look to Apple engineers to create a 10-12"m multiplatform netbook/tablet or smartphone that can project an 30/60" lcd screen...

What is the going price for a m10v?


appreciate your input...

Last edited by MTV; 09-22-2011 at 02:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 09-22-2011, 05:52 PM

The N280 should be 1.66GHz. The N270 is 1.60. Not sure why the BIOS is reporting 1.60. If the BIOS is reporting 1014MB it certainly does not have 2GB.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-22-2011, 07:13 PM

hi steve,

Are you telling me to just send it back? will it be just too much pain to keep this thing?

are N280s that hard to come by?
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
lswartz lswartz is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 479
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Default 09-22-2011, 09:52 PM

This is what I see on my son's Mini 10v;
BIOS A00
CPU 270
1600 MHz
HDD 120GB SATA1
Extended Memory 1014MB

This is one of the very first Mini 10v's but it still works well. He never added RAM. It is not used much like my Mini 9 which is on all day (about 10 hours).

What about your SSD, does it show OK in your BIOS? If it does not, I would send it back.


| Dell Mini 10v | Linux Lite |
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 09-23-2011, 12:52 AM

You cannot upgrade the CPU on the 10v - or on any of the Minis except the 1010, and even then it is expensive.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
MTV MTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-23-2011, 05:59 AM

I guess I will have to follow your advice and just send it back.

can BIOS version be upgraded? Apparently, most of you around this site have A06. Mine had A03. Iswartz' son had A00. What are the benefits?

BTW, Iswartz and Steve, thanks guys for your hospitality to this noobie.

Last edited by MTV; 09-23-2011 at 06:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Switching From S.S.D To Hard Disk | Dell Mini 10, making display work with Ubuntu 10.10 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.