General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
annalogan annalogan is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Unhappy No task bar - help - 02-14-2011, 06:34 PM

Dell Inspiron Mini 9 8.9" 1.6 GHz Laptop i bought a second hand mini 9. The screen appears to have slipped down just over the depth of the task bar.. at start up the task bar is below the bottom of the screen. it doesn't matter what the resolution is set at - the frame appears to have slipped down. any ideas? windows xp on it.

Last edited by annalogan; 02-14-2011 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-14-2011, 07:25 PM

Are you sure that the taskbar isn't set to hide when not in use? If you position the cursor at the bottom edge, does the taskbar pop up?


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
reflex reflex is offline
Guru
 
reflex's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,997
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 02-14-2011, 08:25 PM

Can you drag the edge of the taskbar up?


Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
annalogan annalogan is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 02-14-2011, 08:38 PM

oh hello! No, it isn't hidden. when i press the windows button All Programs is half on the screen.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:30 PM ----------

My son was working on it the night before last and downloaded windows xp updates. I then tried to download i tunes but it said there wasn't enough memory left. the screen went skewed at that stage. i don't appear to have any sound on it either.. i've taken off one of the updates since then, but it hasn't helped.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 02-14-2011, 09:15 PM

you could go into windows restore, usually before windows updates it creates a restore point.....if possible just restore back to before the updates...go to 'start' then 'all programs' then 'accessories' then 'system tools'.... 'system restore' should be an option there


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 02-14-2011 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-14-2011, 09:53 PM

What do you have the resolution set to? Should be 1024x600. You may have it set to 1024x768 or something like that.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
annalogan annalogan is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 02-14-2011, 11:14 PM

It won't give me a restore date before last Saturday oddly enough. Strange but true.

---------- Post added at 11:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:06 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
What do you have the resolution set to? Should be 1024x600. You may have it set to 1024x768 or something like that.
yes - you are right. the resolution just allows me to do 1024 x 768..how do i modify that?
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-15-2011, 12:15 AM

Install the drivers from here.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
annalogan annalogan is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default problem solved itself. - 03-18-2011, 08:07 PM

I left the machine out of disgust for a while and it fixed itself... however I have another problem now. See new thread.Thanks for the advice everyone anyway!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
display

« Time for a new Mini, but which one? | Mini 1012 will not boot from dvd ot thumb drive »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.