General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
iane15 iane15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Bios failure - 12-06-2010, 02:28 PM

During bios upgrade my wife's Mini 1011 crashed, and now it will no longer boot. When I turn on, the HD whirrs for a moment then a click and nothing... with a blank black screen.

I have read each of the threads offering solutions, however I don't have a USB floppy drive and my technical knowledge is insufficent to get this sorted... not even sure if it can be fixed.

Dell wanted to charge me £330 to replace the motherboard and the rep couldn't quite understand why I wasn't interested in the solution as it only cost £249 when I bought it in September new last year.

Anyone on this list who lives in or near Hampshire (UK) want to earn a few quid by fixing for me?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-06-2010, 03:45 PM

there are utlities that will allow you to fix the BIOS, I believe you will need the USB extrernal floppy drive though as where this can not be done with a USB Flash/Thumb drive..search the site here and I am sure you can find it..thats your only option right now...

PS. Welcome to the forum....

link to how to fix it:
How to unbrick a Mini 10v using a floppy drive!

I suggest going on ebay and finding a USB DVD/CD drive..they are pretty cheap under $20 (USD) and you can always use it again on ANY computer also good for watching DVDs on your Mini (arguments for the wife if she gives a hard time....lol)


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
iane15 iane15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default 12-07-2010, 07:18 AM

Sorry a naive question but...
When the instructions say "Run the program from I1010_A04 BIOS Recovery all the way through. Press Enter when it says to remove the floppy disc (don't actually remove it)". I am assuming this is being run off another computer to set up the data on the floppy drive before it is attached to the bricked machine?
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
iane15 iane15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default 12-07-2010, 12:01 PM

Just tried How to flash your BIOS without a floppy drive - Broadband Genie but nothing happened... so maybe I'll have to buy a usb floppy drive next
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 12-07-2010, 04:26 PM

you must use a floppy drive for some reason a flashdrive wont work, would be easier I know but it says a floppy actually they mean a DVD drive, you can get on eon ebay pretty cheap


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
iane15 iane15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default 12-07-2010, 05:08 PM

When you say "a DVD drive"... I have tried loading the files to external CD-drive but again no effect
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 12-07-2010, 05:20 PM

have you changed the BIOS options to enable "Legacy USB" not DVD drive, it must be "LEGACY USB", also verify that the CD/DVD inside the drive is actually a bootable disk otherwise it will not work no matter what you set in the BIOS..try the disk in a desktop or another laptop and see if it boots to the dvd/cd disk, if it starts the windows setup then the disk is good, if it doesnt then the disk is not..the best thing to use is an ORIGINAL MS Windows XP or Windows 7 disk.....(properly licensed of course)


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
iane15 iane15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default 12-07-2010, 05:24 PM

I don't have any access to change bios options as the machine won't boot to anything... turn on and it just stops with blank screen after 2 seconds
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 12-07-2010, 05:42 PM

have you tried hitting f2 as it tries to boot, keep on hitting it, just dont try once..keep tapping f2...or even try just holding f2 down while booting


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
iane15 iane15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default 12-07-2010, 07:00 PM

F2 still does nothing.... there's little more than a second efore it cloicks and that's it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Awesome deal should I go for it? | Got my CR-48 Chrome-OS netbook »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.