General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
Wm.Mays Wm.Mays is offline
Senior Member
 
Wm.Mays's Avatar
 
Posts: 105
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via Yahoo to Wm.Mays
Default 12-26-2009, 03:27 PM

ukbodypilot:

I had the EXACT same thing happen with 10v I bought from the US outlet last month. After spending 45 min. on phone with India, I finally managed to get them to send me the 5530 card after MUCH, MUCH frustration. The tier 1 support is absolutely clueless about the product they're supporting. All is complete now. However, they charged my account for the card, and sent a return label to return the defective (non-exsistant) part.

Luckly, I make PDF's of every page during the order process, and like you, the WWAN card is listed on my invoice. Just a word of caution for anyone purchasing a 10v listed as having WWAN from the outlet, the 5530 module will prob. not be in the system when you get it, even though it is listed on on the spec. page. Luckily the PCIe slot and antennas are.

Sure I'll have to spend more time sorting out the +$200 charge for the part when the time runs out to return the defective (non-exsistant) unit. Dell's automated phone system has already been calling saying they haven't rec'd it yet. Hope you don't have same problem.


MINI 9: Jade Green, RunCore 64GB SSD, Hyper-X 2GB RAM, Dell 5530 WWAN Card, Dell 1505 WiFi Card, Bluetooth 2.1, 1.3MP Webcam, Leopard 10.5.8 NBI 8.0.3 Final, BIOS A05
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
girrelin girrelin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 12-26-2009, 04:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by macagain View Post
Ask him if he thinks this is acceptable service.
"8:07:37 AM Robin Pengelly my system was delivered yesterday and has a missing part
8:07:46 AM Robin Pengelly the WWAN module is not installed.
8:08:01 AM Robin Pengelly The antenna wires are there, so is the SIM slot but no card
8:08:17 AM Robin Pengelly I have verified by opening the plastic door and seeing the empty slot"
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
macagain macagain is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 24
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default I hope I don't get flamed for this... - 12-27-2009, 09:42 PM

Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
87vert 87vert is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 152
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default 01-06-2010, 02:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ukbodypilot View Post

....found the trick, ask for a manager. #11 is going to mail me the missing part.

45 minutes of online chat and 1 hour 43 minutes of phone time with a total of 12 dell staff.

WOW.
Wow it took you that long to figure out that you should ask for a manager?

You can always try these guys.
Reach The Dell Customer Advocates - The Consumerist


Mini 9 | 2gb RAM | 16GB SSD / 8GB SDHC | OS X 10.6.3 Snow Leopard | NBI 0.8.4RC1
Apple TV | 160GB | CrystalHD
iPhone 4
Powermac G5 Tower | 2x 2.0GHZ | 8GB Ram | 160+250 GB HDD | OS X 10.5.8 Leopard | 24" Acer
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-06-2010, 02:42 PM

Dell home support is a joke, but I'd way rather do it via chat than calling.
On the other hand, Dell business support is usually a pleasure to deal with at work. Although of late it seems some of it is getting outsourced to Latin America, but I'm a little more adjusted to working with Latino's so I don't mind a bit.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
ukbodypilot ukbodypilot is offline
Member
 
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Next.... - 01-06-2010, 04:36 PM

So the new part arrives and I open up the box to find a miniPCI card with a couple of antenna sockets - excellent I thought.

Installed the card and tried to get the drivers to install but no luck. Device manager says something about an EVDO device. I look up all the part numbers to find they didn't send me a GSM modem as the original order specified but a Verizon CDMA one instead.

Another 3 calls and 90 minutes this morning before I could get to someone who knew the difference and could accept that one broadband modem might be different from another.

New part on the way - I wonder what will be in the next box!
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-06-2010, 05:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ukbodypilot View Post

New part on the way - I wonder what will be in the next box!
What you mean you don't like surprises? (lol)


PS: Knowing Dell and the way they work it may be a whole damn machine..hopefully a Dell


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-06-2010, 05:37 PM

I just got off the phone with Dell business support, I'll have a new 1GB DIMM tomorrow.
Carry on.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Dell Mini 1012 (with Intel N450) | What's your Mini's uptime? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.