General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

(#1) Old

Default XP SP3 vs Win 7 in daily use on Dual Boot Mini - 11-07-2009, 02:09 AM

So here I sit, anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new Mini 10v, and I'm pondering its eventual configuration. I have never used Win 7 before, and have existed solely on XP and Leopard (my real Mac is PPC.) Should I make my Mini dual boot Win7 and OSX or WinXP and OSX?

Are there compatibility or speed issues I should consider? I've got my 2GB RAM upgrade waiting, as well as a Mini 10 trackpad on the way for retrofit. The 10v I got is the Nickelodeon Edition with a 6-cell battery upgrade, and no BT.

Why the Nick edition? Quite simple, really. There are no Nick logos or characters on it, just a white mini with a wicked splash of slime! Can you say Ghostbusters? I can;t wait to start modding it up!
  (#2) Old

Default 11-07-2009, 02:14 AM

I would suggest you install it with whatever OS you will be most happy with just doing the chat/email/pics/music/streaming of video..etc.

I use mine as a portable internet device, with occasional need for office apps. I threw OSX SL on their because of the small footprint of the OS and the social WOW factor.

I go to my quad-core and dual-core laptop/workstation when I need to do the heavy lifting...and 90% of the time its an XP install I'm in because of the work applications I'm use to.

Mini 10v
  (#3) Old

Default 11-07-2009, 02:53 AM

i run snow leopard and windows 7 on my 10v. 7 runs surprisingly well. it installs off a usb drive easily too. if you already have XP on another system, i'd give it a shot especially if you haven't tried it before. it's pretty too.
  (#4) Old

Default 11-07-2009, 08:12 AM