General Discussion General discussion on...anything!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
thrill5one6 thrill5one6 is offline
Member
 
thrill5one6's Avatar
 
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NY
Question What to do when a window is too big? - 07-24-2009, 04:39 PM

What can you do when a window on the screen is too big and it isn't movable/expandable?
I've just been pressing tab and enter to hopefully hit the "next" button. This normally happens during installs.
Does anyone have a trick or an I missing something real basic?


Obsidian Black Mini 9 | 2GB Kingston RAM | 32GB RunCore SSD | 1.3mp Webcam | Transcend 16GB SDHC | Kawau Micro SD Card Reader | Polaroid 16GB Micro SDHC | Windows XP | Ridic Graphics Skin | Logitech V450 Nano
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Manderley Manderley is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 07-24-2009, 05:18 PM

I'd like to know the answer to this one too....I have the same problem in my genealogy software. Anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
deadrabbit deadrabbit is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-27-2009, 01:50 AM

In Windows, I don't know . . . for any new Linux users out there, you can hold down Alt and click and drag oversized windows off screen to access hidden buttons.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
tmarks11 tmarks11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-28-2009, 03:31 AM

easy, you can chose a higher resolution mode in "display properties", and scroll around on the larger virtual desktop to get to the areas that would otherwise be off the screen.

control panel... display... settings....advanced...monitor... uncheck the "hide modes the monitor cannot support"...OK... then select a higher resolution mode like 1280x1024.

The display won't go crazy like the old analog ones would at unsupported resolutions. The desktop will just be bigger then the window, and you will be able to scroll around to see the rest of it.

Too bad there is not a one-touch button to do this. My Raon Everun UMPC would toggle to higher display modes at the push of a button (of course, since the normal mode was 800x480, you had to do this alot).
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
starwind starwind is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-29-2009, 08:25 PM

I had this problem with my 10v as well, someone pointed me to this thread, which worked a treat. Hope it works for the 9 as well
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Just the messenger Just the messenger is offline
Junior Member
 
Just the messenger's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 08-05-2009, 05:17 PM

I'm not sure if this will work for you but in my browser I can shrink or expand my screen by hitting ctrl and + or - and that will make the window (internally) larger or smaller. Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Use for 10v's 8GB SATA SSD | Cooling down a dell mini 9 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.