Gaming Discussion on netbook gaming.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Unhappy Starcraft on Mini12 - 05-20-2009, 05:24 AM

Well, I've spent way too much time trying to get Starcraft to work for me. I bought a legit copy of Scraft from blizzard, installed great. So now I have a nice fancy Broodwar icon to look at on my desktop. Every time I try to launch the program I get a "Direct Draw Error" which does not sit well with my wallet. Is the IntelGMA500 working against me here? Is there anything I might be able to do? Please help me.
ps/ ive installed the latest directx with no success... I have also tried to right click and run the program in 256colors under the compatability tab. Ive reached what seems to be a wall.
Thanks,
Pat.
Attached Thumbnails
wtf.jpg  


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
soul soul is offline
Senior Member
 
soul's Avatar
 
Posts: 181
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-01-2009, 06:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptdmini12 View Post
Well, I've spent way too much time trying to get Starcraft to work for me. I bought a legit copy of Scraft from blizzard, installed great. So now I have a nice fancy Broodwar icon to look at on my desktop. Every time I try to launch the program I get a "Direct Draw Error" which does not sit well with my wallet. Is the IntelGMA500 working against me here? Is there anything I might be able to do? Please help me.
ps/ ive installed the latest directx with no success... I have also tried to right click and run the program in 256colors under the compatability tab. Ive reached what seems to be a wall.
Thanks,
Pat.
yeah I'm in the same boat =[


Mini 10V | 1.6GHz | 2GB | 16GB SSD | GMA 950 | OSX | ~$180ish | Wireless-N | 6-Cell |
M1340 | 2.4GHz x2 | 4GB | 320GB 7.2K-RPM | Nvidia SLi 9400M + 9200GS | 7-RTM | $500.00 | WEI: 5.3 |
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
chrisjasper chrisjasper is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Works Great Here - 06-01-2009, 10:14 AM

I had issues until I installed the latest patch for BroodWar, now it runs perfectly without the need for disc images or external CD drives on my Win 7 RC build


Black Mini 9, 2gb Ram 32Gb SSD running Mac OS X 10.6
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-02-2009, 01:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjasper View Post
I had issues until I installed the latest patch for BroodWar, now it runs perfectly without the need for disc images or external CD drives on my Win 7 RC build
Thanks for reply'n guys.
Do you have the GMA500? Or something different? I'm not real sure what they're shipping mini 9's with these days. I have tried the patch, doesn't work. All I know is that I've tried pretty much everything I can think of, and right now, all Scraft is doing: taking up precious hard drive space. Wondering if anyone knows the location of the most recent GMA500 driver, I have version 6.14.10.1097. I'm wondering if this issue even CAN be resolved. Intel needs to address this whole GMA500driver/preformance issue. Combing Google for information doesn't really help, talking to the Blizzard Technical support via Email is a complete joke. Life seems to be cruel these days...


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
soul soul is offline
Senior Member
 
soul's Avatar
 
Posts: 181
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-05-2009, 04:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjasper View Post
I had issues until I installed the latest patch for BroodWar, now it runs perfectly without the need for disc images or external CD drives on my Win 7 RC build
That's with a Dell Mini 9


Mini 10V | 1.6GHz | 2GB | 16GB SSD | GMA 950 | OSX | ~$180ish | Wireless-N | 6-Cell |
M1340 | 2.4GHz x2 | 4GB | 320GB 7.2K-RPM | Nvidia SLi 9400M + 9200GS | 7-RTM | $500.00 | WEI: 5.3 |
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
chrisjasper chrisjasper is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 06-25-2009, 09:34 AM

Apologies, that will teach me to read the thread properly


Black Mini 9, 2gb Ram 32Gb SSD running Mac OS X 10.6
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-29-2009, 11:24 PM

I still get the same direct draw error with windows 7, using the latest vista gma driver.


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Star Wars Galaxies | Good RPG's that I got working! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.