Gaming Discussion on netbook gaming.

(#1) Old

Default EA games on Dell Mini 9 - 02-13-2009, 07:56 AM

Hello guys,

I have been a ROM for a while in this forum, but I thought I'd actively involve myself here.

Well, I currently own Dell mini 9 with 4GB Stock SSD and 2GB memory, running XP professional.

I have been interested in buying a runcore SSD (probably the 16GB one, as I am a poor college student... :roll: ).
And, one of the big factors upon deciding to really buy it or not is how well EA sports games run (especially the FIFA series). It probably has to do a lot with the video card as well, but I think the speed of the hard drive should matter to a certain extent.

I would like to try it myself, but with XP installed on a 4GB SSD, I don't have enough disk space to do so.
If there is anybody out there who has the games running or has made an attempt, I would appreciate your comments.

Thanks and have a nice weekend!!
  (#2) Old

Default Re: EA games on Dell Mini 9 - 02-13-2009, 04:58 PM

You might want to post your question in the Windows Games section, HERE. Also, in that forum, there is a pinned topic with a list of games that are playable on the Mini, which they add to often.
  (#3) Old

Default Re: EA games on Dell Mini 9 - 02-13-2009, 06:18 PM

I dont think games are hit by a performance decrease much by speeds of SSD/external drives.

the Video card and Atom CPU are the limiting factors. I doubt you could play the newer EA sports titles,but im sure you could play some from a few years back ok. I dont have any of them to test tho.

Mini Gaming Addict List of Playable Games Current Favorite: Darwinia
*Sold My Mini 9*
  (#4) Old

Default Re: EA games on Dell Mini 9 - 02-13-2009, 10:53 PM

I have Tiger Woods 2005 running fine now but FIFA is a much faster game. Not sure how recent a game you would be able to run.

Everything's Blue, Everything's Blue In This World, All Fuzzy, Spilling Out Of My Head.
  (#5) Old