Gaming Discussion on netbook gaming.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Gondee Gondee is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-08-2009, 03:58 PM

I finally found out how to get counter strike source playing. Here is my original post....
http://gondee.blogspot.com/2009/02/how- ... ce-on.html

Here is what it i did

Quote:

First of all, before we start you will need a copy of Counter Strike Source. Use which every way you want to get it installed...

So after that long download is over, or that long disk install is done, we can start.

You will need a copy of Casey's configuration. To do that open notepad, and paste this in it...
heres the link to his site http://www.invision-gaming.co.uk/Counte ... ig-38.html


// _Set netcode settings_
// _adjusts hitboxes and netcode settings for optimal registration_

cl_cmdbackup 2
cl_cmdrate 101
cl_interp 0.01
cl_interpolate 1
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck 1
cl_lagcompensation 1
cl_updaterate 101
cl_smooth 1
rate 25000

// _Set graphics settings_
// _adjusts graphics settings to boost framerate_

cl_forcepreload 1 // _forces preload to help increase performance_
cl_phys_props_enable 0 // _disables trash and cans etc_
cl_phys_props_max 0 // _disables trash and cans etc_
cl_ragdoll_physics_enable 0 // _disables dead animations and bodies_
cl_show_splashes 0 // _disables splashes when in water_
fps_max 101 // _caps FPS_
mat_forceaniso 0 // _disables anisotropic filtering_
mat_antialias 0 // _disables antialiasing_
mat_bloomscale 0
mat_bumpmap 0 // _disables bumpmapping_
mat_clipz 1 // _disabled non visible object rendering_
mat_fastnobump 1 // _faster bump mapping_
mat_fastspecular 1 // _fast specular lighting_
mat_mipmaptextures 1 // _texture quality decreases with distance_
mat_hdr_enabled 0 // _disables high dynamic range lighting_
mat_picmip 1 // _lower texture quality--set between 0 and 4_
mat_reducefillrate 1 // _reduces shader fill rate_
mat_specular 0 // _disables specular lighting_
mat_trilinear 0 // _disables trilinear filtering_
mat_wateroverlaysize 16 // _lowers water quality_
mat_vsync 0 // _disables vertical synchronization_
mp_decals 50 // _how many bullets etc will be shown_
muzzleflash_light 0 // _disables muzzleflash_
r_3dsky 0 // _disables 3D skybox_
r_avglight 0 // _disables average lighting_
r_cheapwaterend 1 // _worse water rendering_
r_cheapwaterstart 1 // _worse water rendering_
r_decal_cullsize 2 // _lower texture quality at distance_
r_decals 0 // _disables player sprays_
r_drawdetailprops 0 // _disables detail props_
r_drawflecks 0 // _disables bullet impacts_
r_drawmodeldecals 0 // _disables decals on models_
r_dynamic 0 // _disables dynamic lighting_
r_eyes 0 // _removes eyes from player models_
r_lightaverage 0 // _disables average lighting_
r_lightinterp 0 // _disables light interpolation_
r_lod 0 // _adjusts model quality--set between -5 and 5_
r_occlusion 0 // _disables occlusion--lowers image quality but gains FPS_
r_propsmaxdist 100 // _lower object fading distance_
r_renderoverlayfragment 0
r_rootlod 2 // _lower overall game detail level_
r_shadows 1 // _set to 0 to disable shadows (not recommended)_
r_teeth 0 // _removes teeth from player models_
r_waterforceexpensive 0 // _disables high-quality water_
rope_averagelight 0 // _disables average lighting on ropes_
rope_smooth 0 // _disables antialiasing on ropes_
rope_subdiv 0
rope_wind_dist 0 // _disables wind effects on ropes_

// _Set instruction sets_
// _note: verify processor support before enabling_

//r_3dnow 1 // _enables 3DNow! instruction set_
//r_mmx 1 // _enables MMX instruction set_
//r_sse 1 // _enables SSE instruction set_
//r_sse2 1 // _enables SSE2 instruction set_

// _Set violence settings_
// _increases blood to help you see hits better_

violence_ablood 1
violence_agibs 1
violence_hblood 1
violence_hgibs 1

// _Set HUD and xhair settings_
// _adjusts HUD and xhair for easy viewing_

cl_crosshaircolor 0 // _green crosshair_
cl_crosshairalpha 999 // _bright crosshair_
cl_crosshairusealpha 1 // _enables adjustable crosshair brightness_
cl_c4progressbar 1 // _enables C4 progress bar_
hud_centerid 1 // _centers player IDs_
net_graph 3 // _enables net_graph 3--CAL required!_
net_graphpos 2 // _adjusts netgraph position-set between 1 and 3_

// _Set various settings_

budget_show_history 0 // _disables history graph_
cl_downloadfilter "nosounds" // _disables annoying sound downloads_
jpeg_quality 100 // _high quality screenshots_
mat_monitorgamma 1.6 // _maximum ingame brightness_
sv_forcepreload 1 // _forces preload to help increase performance_

clear
echo "_casey's config loaded_"






Once you have pasted that inside notepad, save it as autoexec.cfg

Now you will have to paste it in your counter strike source directory.
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\steamusername\counter-strike source\cstrike\cfg

Note: you may have to start the game once to have this directory created.

After you have saved it there, open up steam again, and right click the Counter Strike Source game button (in the games tabs). A little right click menu will appear, properties.

Now click "Set Launch Options"
copy and past this in, without the quotes.
"-dxlevel 70 -heapsize 262144"

Start up the game (may take a while) go to Options>video and set all things to the lowest, including the resolution. Press apply.

Restart Steam, and you should be good to go. But mind you, the little Dell mini still wont play 32 man servers, or maps like DE_dust well. But texture maps work great, and you should be getting 20+ FPS on them


-Enjoy
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
teeth_03 teeth_03 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 466
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-09-2009, 01:05 PM

I dont play the game,but u might want to give a link to Casey's Config


Mini Gaming Addict List of Playable Games Current Favorite: Darwinia
*Sold My Mini 9*
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
nollie nollie is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 243
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to nollie
Default Re: How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-09-2009, 06:49 PM

I don't play CS:S either, but thank you very much for this information!

TF2 anyone?



Dell Mini 9 - 64GB Runcore - 2GB RAM - Windows 7 - 16GB SD - Jolicloud Beta
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Gondee Gondee is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-09-2009, 11:45 PM

I tryed tweaking TF2 and trying to get it to work, but i could not get past the first loading screen. Some memory error. So some one else needs to try it, because mine simply wont open. I cant tell wether the error is due to the computer or the game. :cry: :cry:

-thanks for the tip, i don;t know the exact place where his config originated,
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
dabnpits dabnpits is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Re: How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-10-2009, 09:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gondee
I tryed tweaking TF2 and trying to get it to work, but i could not get past the first loading screen. Some memory error. So some one else needs to try it, because mine simply wont open. I cant tell wether the error is due to the computer or the game. :cry: :cry:

-thanks for the tip, i don;t know the exact place where his config originated,
I've got TF2 running somewhat well (15-20+ FPS) in some maps (dustbowl seems to work well and is my current "benchmark" map). Unfortunately, I keep crashing to desktop or getting blue screen errors. It seems that running in DirectX 8 mode gives a nice performance boost and using custom autoexec.cfg files that disable everything that can be disabled also helps.

I'm running Windows XP Pro, 2GB RAM, and I have the game installed on an external USB hard drive.

The INTEL 9XX Gaming Google Group has a few posts that I want to explore a little more. Some talk about using TransGaming's SwiftShader with some games to increase performance and stability. There's also a "hacked" driver there that may help too.

Anyone have a setup for TF2 and the Dell Mini 9 that works well and is stable?
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Gondee Gondee is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-14-2009, 05:44 AM

I cant even start the game, theres some memory error. Do you mind trying it with one gig of ram? i wana see if thats not enough in this case of somthing.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Spartan939 Spartan939 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Re: How To: Counter Strike Source. - 02-26-2009, 10:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gondee
I cant even start the game, theres some memory error. Do you mind trying it with one gig of ram? i wana see if thats not enough in this case of somthing.
if you have one gig you should be sticking with doom i think
Reply With Quote
Reply

« how to get Battlefield 1942 working? | Rollercoaster Tycoon 2 for Mini 9 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.