Gaming Discussion on netbook gaming.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
dalooter dalooter is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Playing World of Warcraft on my mini 10 - 10-27-2009, 08:41 AM

I was looking through videos on youtube, and it seems like everybody are running their WoW client just fine on their mini 9. My mini 10 has 1.6 ghz, 160g hd, and 1g of ram. Please give me suggestions on what I can do to improve the flaw of the game. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 10-27-2009, 01:53 PM

The game requires at least 2GB of RAM, so I don't see that you could play it at all, let alone install it.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
danmanx danmanx is offline
Senior Member
 
danmanx's Avatar
 
Posts: 290
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 11-18-2009, 04:09 PM

Thorsteenster, I've run WoW on 1GB RAM on my old computers. It's not pretty, but WoW's been around since Nov 2004 and back then, 2GB in a computer was non-standard.

Plus, you don't have to install, you can just copy the files from another computer.

There's not much you can do to really improve it on the Mini's, dalooter. The video chip GMA archaic architecture prevents 3D gaming at it's best.

1. Use GMABooster for a slight performance gain.
2. Disable any 3rd party applications.


Dell Inspiron Mini 9 / Custom XP Pro SP3 / 2GB Mushkin RAM / 4GB Stock SSD / Mini BT USB Dongle / 16GB Class 6 SDHC
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Samuel Samuel is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Default 11-28-2009, 09:22 PM

From what i've heard it is not playable at all in any kind of main city's/ crouded areas. Apparently you may be able to go to a non-popular city for auction house thing but its a risk. A few things you can do is upgrade to 2gb of ram, ONLY run wow, and turn the settings/res down all the way for best playability.
I am going to try and get wow on my mini in the next few days but it looks like a hastle so ill stick to my work horse for wow


Vaio CS series--2.4ghrz--4gb ddr2--220HDD--Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell Mini 10v--n270--1gb ram--160HDD--windows 7 Home Premium
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTI4ODM4NTQ5
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
minsk minsk is offline
Junior Member
 
minsk's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: East Bay, CA
Default 01-25-2010, 03:26 AM

I tried it today on my 10v. With everything on low, 800x600, I got 20fps outside by myself, 16fps in Goldshire with other people around, and 8fps in Stormwind, and it wasn't even that crowded. I guess it would be good for grinding on the go or simple quests... that's about all.


refurb 10v | N280 1.66ghz 667mhz | BIOS A06 | 2GB RAM | ditched the thermal pads and applied arctic silver | Snow Leopard/Windows 7 dual boot
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 01-25-2010, 04:42 AM

if one of the reasons you guys bought a Mini was to play WoW...boy did you waste your money...they saw you coming, got a bridge for sale..any of you wanna buy it????????? (LOL)


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
tchariya tchariya is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 346
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Default 01-25-2010, 04:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
if one of the reasons you guys bought a Mini was to play WoW...boy did you waste your money...they saw you coming, got a bridge for sale..any of you wanna buy it????????? (LOL)

Time to save up for the Alienware 11Z!!!!


Mini 10v
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
ahandlen003 ahandlen003 is offline
Member
 
ahandlen003's Avatar
 
Posts: 66
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: @L.A.,CA@
Send a message via AIM to ahandlen003 Send a message via Skype™ to ahandlen003
Default 01-27-2010, 04:26 AM

idk wat you guys r talkin bout, i have WOW on my mini 10v with osx and it runs great even tho its on low settings. and even on low it looks good. never tried it on w7 or xp but on osx it works great for me. only time ive ever had noticible lag is in huge cities.


Mini10v - Black With Apple Logo - 1GB RAM - 320GB - BlueTooth(Added) - A06 - N280 - /QuadBoot\ SL OSX 10.6.2| Jolicloud OS PRO (beta)| Windows 7 Ultimate| Ubuntu Netbook Remix
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Noobbob Noobbob is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-28-2010, 01:18 AM

Also running OSX.

First off I tried to run with everything at lowest but the display distance.
Got maybe 10fps in unpopulated areas, but Dalaran was unplayable with 1 fps if even that.

Then I switched all my settings to lowest.

Dala: 5-10fps
Org: 20-30fps
Unpop: actually had 40-50 while not fighting

never actually did any fighting cause I'm just an ah-freak so I guess it holds if you want to play the AH
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
JersyDvl JersyDvl is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 01-29-2010, 01:02 AM

im currently in a position where i dont have regular access to my 24" imac so my 10v is my only computer at the moment. and while i use it mostly for school, i am able to run wow pretty decent on it. nothing a mazing, i wouldnt raid with it but some solo work, gathering, chatting and 5man instances all worked well enough to be fully playable. i was getting around 5fps in dalaran. not amazing, but it worked. i have everything set to low and the resolution set to max. im sure i could get better fps if i set it to 800x600
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Ingenious | need help xbox 360 controller driver. »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.