Gaming Discussion on netbook gaming.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
IDKwutName IDKwutName is offline
Senior Member
 
IDKwutName's Avatar
 
Posts: 212
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Default 11-08-2009, 05:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLoz View Post
Is it possible to use this over LAN or is it purely online?
purley online since u have to access the website to get use it



Alienware M15x|Black|BT|GT 240m|Intel i5|Windows 7 64-bit|
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
TheLoz TheLoz is offline
Member
 
TheLoz's Avatar
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Default 11-11-2009, 09:11 PM

My net connection has a ping of 100-200ms usually. I would've thought that would be enough to make games unplayable. I'll have to give it the old college trial at some point I suppose!


Red 16GB Dell Mini 9 - Windows 7 Professional, 2GB RAM, 32GB SDHC, Bluetooth

Add me on: Twitter/Last.fm/Flickr/Facebook

Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
danmanx danmanx is offline
Senior Member
 
danmanx's Avatar
 
Posts: 290
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 11-12-2009, 05:00 PM

I'm having some freezing problems with it, but overall it's pretty neat. It's incredibly hard to play WoW at 640x480 graphics..........


Dell Inspiron Mini 9 / Custom XP Pro SP3 / 2GB Mushkin RAM / 4GB Stock SSD / Mini BT USB Dongle / 16GB Class 6 SDHC
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
jdcnosse jdcnosse is offline
Senior Member
 
jdcnosse's Avatar
 
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Michigan
Send a message via AIM to jdcnosse Send a message via MSN to jdcnosse Send a message via Yahoo to jdcnosse
Default 11-12-2009, 07:33 PM

what kind of internet do you have that has 100ms-200ms ping? I've got cable right now, and it's usually only around 25-50ms lol


Custom-built | AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600 | 2GB RAM | 1.4TB total HDD space | ATI Radeon HD 4650 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
TheLoz TheLoz is offline
Member
 
TheLoz's Avatar
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Default 11-18-2009, 11:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdcnosse View Post
what kind of internet do you have that has 100ms-200ms ping? I've got cable right now, and it's usually only around 25-50ms lol
I'm with Orange Home Broadband, supposedly an 8mbit line (really not my choice!) When playing Left 4 Dead I usually experience 100ms+ ping, though I suppose that could be at the server end as well. I think on a speedtest it's a bit less. I'd still imagine anything more than 5ms would be noticeably laggy, especially on a mouse-driven game...


Red 16GB Dell Mini 9 - Windows 7 Professional, 2GB RAM, 32GB SDHC, Bluetooth

Add me on: Twitter/Last.fm/Flickr/Facebook

Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
jdcnosse jdcnosse is offline
Senior Member
 
jdcnosse's Avatar
 
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Michigan
Send a message via AIM to jdcnosse Send a message via MSN to jdcnosse Send a message via Yahoo to jdcnosse
Default 11-24-2009, 01:56 AM

aah...you're in the UK...well, that might make sense then if you're playing in a US server or a server somewhere else in the world.

I have Charter Communications 10mbps, and yea it's usually about 20-30ms.


Custom-built | AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600 | 2GB RAM | 1.4TB total HDD space | ATI Radeon HD 4650 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
TobyRhino TobyRhino is offline
Senior Member
 
TobyRhino's Avatar
 
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default 12-10-2009, 10:59 AM

That sounds great. I was looking for something to do this a while back but I couldn't find this!

I did look into VNC and similar things, but they all refused to display games other than windows' ones.

Too bad it has to run through the net. I don't really want to pay for internet usage to play a game that I already own, just so I can play on the couch :P
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
IDKwutName IDKwutName is offline
Senior Member
 
IDKwutName's Avatar
 
Posts: 212
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Default 01-13-2010, 04:21 PM

i just found out, it can run through LAN, but i couldnt get it working yet, some error to do with WSAEtimesout



Alienware M15x|Black|BT|GT 240m|Intel i5|Windows 7 64-bit|
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
TobyRhino TobyRhino is offline
Senior Member
 
TobyRhino's Avatar
 
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default 04-29-2010, 11:45 AM

Sweet. I'll be sure to have a look.
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
fullsilence fullsilence is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-01-2011, 08:28 AM

Try Single Player Game Transmitter, a free alternative of StreamMyGame
Reply With Quote
Reply

« CS 1.6 cider port | Transform the mini 9 into a retro gaming console »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.