Forum Archive Old/outdated threads will end up here.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
mira mira is offline
Posts: 47
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 4 Gbyte RAM possible? - 04-17-2009, 02:19 PM


as there are 4 Gbyte SO-DIMM modules available: will mini 9 accept them to the full?



Dell Mini 9 | Mac OS X 10.5.6 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | Bios A04
DellEFI 1.1 | USB Legacy Mode off | Bluetooth on | 1,3 MP camera | Wake from USB off | Apple Wireless Keyboard (Plastic, Bluetooth)
  (#2) Old
wm_brant wm_brant is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central Iowa, USA
Default Re: 4 Gbyte RAM possible? - 04-17-2009, 02:34 PM

Mira --

The short answer is 'no'. The Atom processor design is limited to addressing only 2GB of RAM. Other Intel X86 processors running in 32-bit mode can address twice as much RAM -- 4GB -- but Intel felt the relatively slow Atom should do just fine with half that amount.

Upcoming version of the Atom may address more RAM, but for now, you'll have to manage with 'only' 2GB.

-- Bill

PS: My official work laptop -- 3 years old, but with a processor significantly faster than the Atom -- has only 1GB of RAM, and I manage OK despite running lots of programs at the same time...

« Buying your mini 9 from tescos? | How/where I can download the mac osx ? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016