Forum Archive Old/outdated threads will end up here.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
druce druce is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Upgrading to A04 Bios with MacOS - 02-05-2009, 06:42 PM

Hi all,

I just wanted to share this little trick with you. My ROM Bios was factory A00, and I suspected that this might be causing some issued I had (it wasn't, but hey, I have the new BIOS Now). The problem, as many of you might have noticed, is that the ROM BIOS updater is Windows only. I did not want to install Windows just for the purpose of updating the BIOS.

What I was able to do is create a Windows-lite live CD, technically called a "PreInstall Environment". In short, it creates a live CD that includes just enough windows to be able to run the BIOS updater. Check here to read more:

This provides a tool that creates a bootable ISO image. When you are defining your image, you can select other files and / or executables to be included on the boot image. What I got in the end was a bootable CD that allowed me to update the BIOS without interfering with the SSD at all!
  (#2) Old
somms somms is offline
Super Moderator
somms's Avatar
Posts: 883
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FAA
Default Re: Upgrading to A04 Bios with MacOS - 02-05-2009, 06:46 PM


Or you could just flash under DOS, which has been proven to be much faster (less<1min) and safer than under Windoze ...


« bluetooth can't turn it off | Can the Mini 12 run OS X as well as the Mini 9? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016