External Accessories / Peripherals Discuss any accessories used to enhance your Dell Inspiron Mini experience.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
dustin.weidner dustin.weidner is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default questions about external displays - 01-08-2010, 06:23 AM

hey, i looked around and could find my answers, here are my ?'s.

-can you run high quality displays off of the 10v?
-what hookups/adapters will I need? make sure these cables can keep the quality..
-will the 10v be sluggish with its 1gig ram? or should I opt to get the 2nd gig?
-what size displays can I look into getting?

first priority is quality, second is size. I deal with photos a lot and would like a larger resolution than this for when I need it. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
pokenguyen pokenguyen is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 227
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 01-08-2010, 09:30 AM

When you connect your 10v to external display by VGA cable, your graphic card will automatically detect your display and provide you available resolution for your display. For example, when I connect to my 17" LCD display, I can choose 1024x768 resolution or higher. The quality depends on your display setting. You should buy a VGA cable because your mini 10v only has VGA port
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-08-2010, 03:59 PM

if I were you I would go for the 2gb upgrade, because you said you do a lot with photos and if you want to run something like photoshop which is a pretty intensive program to run on a Mini, the 2gb will come in handy then..

PS: Welcome to the forum


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
w7ox w7ox is offline
Senior Member
 
w7ox's Avatar
 
Posts: 449
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 01-08-2010, 04:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin.weidner View Post
hey, i looked around and could find my answers, here are my ?'s.

-can you run high quality displays off of the 10v?
-what hookups/adapters will I need? make sure these cables can keep the quality..
-will the 10v be sluggish with its 1gig ram? or should I opt to get the 2nd gig?
-what size displays can I look into getting?

first priority is quality, second is size. I deal with photos a lot and would like a larger resolution than this for when I need it. Thanks!
All this assumes you are running the 10v with a stock OS. Running OS X on the 10v makes use of external monitors a tad more challenging.

Phil


Netbook: Mini 10v, BIOS A05, OS X 10.6.4, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, BT
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
dustin.weidner dustin.weidner is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-08-2010, 06:37 PM

awesome, guys. thanks! I ran photoshop all day yesterday and 1gig of ram was o.k. but not great. I'm probably always going to be running windows on this little guy... just to make sure, I can get up to HD resolutions with our video card?
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,156
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-08-2010, 08:17 PM

Yes, as long as you don't go too crazy.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
chad142 chad142 is offline
Junior Member
 
chad142's Avatar
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-13-2010, 10:51 PM

got the 2gb upgrade on mine(stock) but the hdmi works fine


Dell mini 10(1010),160GB HD,2GBRAM,Vista 32bit,1.6GHz z530
http://www.cherokeeforum.com/members...-flowchart.jpg
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
sonatacreative sonatacreative is offline
Member
 
sonatacreative's Avatar
 
Posts: 64
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 01-16-2010, 10:01 AM

I've never had a prob with external displays on my mini running OSX. IF anything, I like the way OSX handles external displays better than windows- auto detect works really well- no messing with settings to get it just right.

Only caveat, is never set it to mirror in OSX... never EVER. You'll get some funky fireworks and will have to search the forums for the fix (which thankfully there is). Also, projectors don't work too well, but pretty much an LCD will work great out of the box. I've used mine on roughly 10 different unique displays now without any issues whatsoever.


Cheers,
Stephen
___________________________________
 Mini 9 | 64 GB RunCore Pro IV SDD | 2Gb Crucial RAM | OSX 10.5.8 | NBI .8.2 | BIOS A05 | No BlueTooth
 Mac Pro 1,1 | 128 GB Kingston V-Series SDD (startup) | 4Gb RAM | OSX 10.6.2
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
howflee howflee is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default External Monitor w/ 10v - 02-02-2010, 06:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by w7ox View Post
All this assumes you are running the 10v with a stock OS. Running OS X on the 10v makes use of external monitors a tad more challenging.

Phil
Hi, I tried but my 10v w/ OSX does not detect an external monitor connection. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for any advice...
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Mini 9 Solderless Touch Screen Predicament | External Blu-Ray drive: can Dell Mini 9 handle it? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.