External Accessories / Peripherals Discuss any accessories used to enhance your Dell Inspiron Mini experience.

View Poll Results:
0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

(#1) Old

Send a message via AIM to TchnclFl
Default Mini 9 Solderless Touch Screen Predicament - 11-01-2009, 08:23 PM

Hey guys!

I'm very tempted by the idea of the solderless touch screen, but I do have a few fears. I've never disassembled my Mini more than just taking off the back cover to replace RAM and SSD, and I'm not sure how easy it is?

Firstly, are all the screws that need removing the same? I'd hate to end up mixing them up!

Also, How hard is it to get it stripped down to the level required? Does it take a lot of work/space/is it very time consuming?

Similarly, What are the chances of accidentally breaking the bezel/palm rest, etc. when trying to remove them? As I've said, I've never tried this before.

If I were to want to remove the touch screen, I've heard a lot of things about it shattering. Is this a near certainty, or is there a way around that?

Finally, I've never been able to get my webcam to work, and I suspect it's a hardware problem. From what I understand, it's either the camera module or the cable/connection. Also from what I understand, the touch screen uses a Hub which plugs into the camera's connection, and then has the camera plug into it. If it's that USB connection that's broken, am I just SOL, or would there be any chance of returning the touch screen.

I know that's a lot to read, but I appreciate any answers!
  (#2) Old
Administrator

Default 11-01-2009, 08:32 PM

The screws are mostly the same - I think there are two different lengths. What I do is take the screws and put them in a row, in order of removal, and then reverse on assembly. Never had a problem. Note that two screws are hidden under rubber pads at the corners of the bottom.