Dual Booting All discussion on Dual Booting 2 operating systems (or even more!) on the Dell Mini

(#1) Old
Default Is it possible to install W7 from a W7 installed hard drive? - 04-08-2010, 12:37 AM

Dell Mini 10V newbie here trying to get a OSX & WIN7 dual boot going.

I first removed the 160GB hard drive that came from Dell with WIN7 loaded. I replaced it with a 320GB hard drive and successfully installed OSX (Snow Leopard). It took me a few tries and now I can't remember if I used GUID or MBR.

I used Disk Utility in OSX to make a 2nd partition and have been trying all sorts of ways to get WIN7 installed, and always a FAIL.

I do not have a WIN7 install CD. I have my original 160GB hard drive with WIN7 loaded, and I do have a cable/power setup so that I can attached the drive externally via USB.

I also have the Dell Restore CD.

I was hoping that I could do a Restore from Disk Utility using my 160GB WIN7 drive (externally) as the Source, and the 2nd partition on my internal 320GB drive as the Destination. But I don't know how to make it boot from the 2nd partition.

So is it possible, or has anyone had any luck installing WIN7 after OSX via an external WIN7 hard drive?

(#2) Old
Super Moderator
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 04-08-2010, 01:41 AM

you will need a genuine Windows 7 install disk either in an external DVD drive or on a USB Flash Drive, the restore disk will format your drive and bascially restore your machine back to day 1....sorry, and no it cant not be restored from your origianl 160gb drive either...sorry again....

PS. Welcome to the forum..