Dell Streak Forum for discussion on Dells 5'' android tablet, the Dell Streak

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
ldivinag ldivinag is offline
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jun 2009
Talking is the streak 4G ready device? - 01-18-2011, 06:00 PM

cause i just got an email from att saying they are getting ready to roll out their 4g network...

Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
pappyfire pappyfire is offline
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mentone, AL
Send a message via Yahoo to pappyfire
Default 01-20-2011, 02:06 AM

No, sorry, totally different radio. The Streak does GSM (voice and Edge) and UMTS (3G), AT&T 4G is LTE.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
SurfDaddeo SurfDaddeo is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Unlocked Dell Streak 5 on Tmobile - 01-31-2011, 12:08 AM

Well I purchased an unlocked Streak and use it on Tmobile. I then realized it doesnt have the 3g band so I've been hobbling along on Edge. But then I read about tmobile's "4g" band... Its not really 4g but amped 3g on the UMTS 2100 band which the streak gets... so, I justed signed up for the tMo "4g"... Nothing has happened yet... So either it takes a couple of hours or I have to turn on that band on the phone... which I can't find... Any ideas???
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
oklahemi oklahemi is offline
Senior Member
oklahemi's Avatar
Posts: 123
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default 01-31-2011, 06:00 AM

what the french toast? is that a hardware or software issue? in other words can dj steve help us?

StreakDroid FTW

Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
fester61 fester61 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 334
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Default 01-31-2011, 11:08 AM

Originally Posted by oklahemi View Post
what the french toast? is that a hardware or software issue? in other words can dj steve help us?
Hardware I'm afraid the radio in the streak does not support LTE
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Purple Zebra Purple Zebra is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 242
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 01-31-2011, 01:38 PM

There is no way in hell you will get 4G on the streak.

If T-Mobile and AT&T are passing off HSPA+ as '4G' That is a different matter entirely. HSPA+ is sometimes called '3.5', and is basically 3G, but a bit faster.

If you have a really good 3.5G connection, it might get close to the speeds of a bad 4G Wimax connection, but it wont compare to a good wimax connection, and it certainly wont compare to LTE 4G.

It's definitely not 4G, and any network that tells you it is, and charges you for that privilege is conning you.
Reply With Quote

« And then there were two . . . | I am selling Dell streak accessories, can mail »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016