Dell Streak Forum for discussion on Dells 5'' android tablet, the Dell Streak

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Ind1 Ind1 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London - UK
Default "New Streak" is better: - 07-02-2010, 01:12 PM

Hi guys, After my local O2 store made a mistake (putting me on a 2yr contract instead of 18 mths) they were happy to rectify the error however asked me to return my streak and cancelled previous contract then gave me brand new Streak and a new 18 yes this time its 18 mths contract.

Coming home playing with “new strak”, I found new apps, screen orientation (portrait/landscape) was so fast (previously took about 4/5 seconds). Signal strength was better, battery life longer; keyboard responses are smooth and 100% accurate, mmm lots of “feel good factor”.

Yep: I did check for OS, and it is still 1.6

Remember the say: Everything happen for a reason
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
somms somms is offline
Super Moderator
somms's Avatar
Posts: 883
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FAA
Default 07-02-2010, 01:30 PM

Maybe thats what these Streak updates posted upon Dell's Euro & US ftp servers on 6/29 are:
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
bigrob bigrob is offline
Super Moderator
Posts: 382
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default 07-02-2010, 01:41 PM

That is just the PC Suite and it's still A00.

Nothing to do with the OS.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Dunhamzzz Dunhamzzz is offline
Dunhamzzz's Avatar
Posts: 1,855
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Dunhamzzz
Default 07-02-2010, 02:58 PM

Originally Posted by bigrob View Post
That is just the PC Suite and it's still A00.

Nothing to do with the OS.
Yeah it's still A00 despite saying A01 in the file name!

Interestingly there is an official Dell update floating around on one of their servers, it upgrades the stock 3883 build to 4399 it's still Android 1.6 and it's not been officially released yet as it's not detected by the autoupdate site and has to be manually applied.

Discussion here:

Update here: - you'll need to manually apply this update though and some people can't get it to work.

The reason I haven't made a fuss about it over here is because it doesnt appear to do anything obvious and hasn't been officially pressed out there yet.

Please do not send me support requests via PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Leon Leon is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 147
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK
Default 07-02-2010, 05:31 PM

I just installed it, I noticed that it was dated May something or other. The screen seems more responsive and the orientation switches more rapidly. It is build 4399 now.
Reply With Quote

« Strange but true - videos not showing up in media player | Dell Streak vs O2 (Dell) Streak »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016