Dell Streak Support Forum for Dell Streak owners to get help and support for their Streak.

(#1) Old
Default Help!!! Newbe in serious need of assistance - 04-13-2011, 10:49 PM

Hi there!!!!!

I have had my dell streak for about a week now. Im new to android and the dell i had an iphone for 2 years but decided that i wanted a change. So i bought one.

I have to say im loving it abit harder to use but worth it.

So my problem is that after only a week i have somehow managed to use nearly 80% of my data usage. Thats nearly 350mb in less then 7 days.

I dont watch loads of videos just the same as i did on my iphone and never really used more than 100-200mb a month at the most.

I dont know if i have just not set the phone up right but this does seem a hell of alot of usage.

ANY help or advice will really be useful as this is gonna cost me a fortune.

Many thanks
  (#2) Old
Red face Help Newbie In Serious Need Of Assistance - 04-14-2011, 09:12 AM

Stuart, I can't really help, other than to say there is really nothing much to set up, just wallpaper and ringtones.

It should work straight away after charging.

You haven't mentioned what applications you downloaded that weren't on the phone in the first place.

Some apps require that you close them down via the menu button on the right side of the screen.

Otherwise they keep running in the background. And if say, you had been streaming the Aljazeera live TV news app, and you thought you had closed it down with the "Back" button (I don't think you can), you would still be streaming from Dubai.

Also, the TubeMate YouTube downloader must be exited via the menu button. It will look as though it has closed when you press the "Back" button, but it is still active.

Seems to me that whatever phone it is, it can only use bandwidth if it has been made to run some sort of internet application.

Something must be running that you are not aware of, and some apps do require an internet connection.