Dell Streak Support Forum for Dell Streak owners to get help and support for their Streak.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
gamer4life gamer4life is offline
Posts: 72
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default "No Service" - 08-07-2010, 09:22 PM

hey everyone,

its been a month that i have my dell streak but now all of sudden i am getting the No service status on top randomly. I loose connections often when i am not supposed to.

can anyone also let me know if they are having this problem and if so how to fix it..

i am also past my 14 day limit and the stupid o2 ppl are saying that its software related.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
degriz degriz is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 08-08-2010, 02:56 PM

I got the same nonsense from crapfone warehouse. And because Im 2 days over some mandatory limit they have sent the device to be "Repaired".
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Fards Fards is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 08-08-2010, 05:49 PM

Are you using taskiller at all?
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 08-08-2010, 07:39 PM

I'd like to know if this does get repaired and working, I hit the same thing even when it doesn't look like I'm in conditions that should be experiencing such losses (given the reported antenna strengths).

Can happen to me with a full power-on from shutdown without any task-killer operations (I have ATK installed but it only kills specific apps WHEN I press the button to do so, it does nothing the rest of the time). Even ATK itself isn't running at the time I get these problems, it's not set to auto-start itself, and it's auto-kill setting is completely disabled.

It's a problem that existed even before I got any apps installed on the device, my assumption at the time was that I was just in a cruddy signal area.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
degriz degriz is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 08-09-2010, 10:54 AM

I have nothing installed that should effect it and no task killer at all. The same sim in another phone shows no such drops in service. I thought it might be down to o2 suffering from pimping too many IPhones and rinsing their network out. Eventually, having seen this and other threads about the issue, I decided to try and get CW to do something about it. The buggers refuse to replace the handset and insisted on having it "Repaired" that was 9 days ago...I can whole heartedly say that I will never go near Carphone Warehouse again as long as I live. Totally useless from beginning to end. Even managed to set my standing order up for the wrong day!! Looking at the o2 "Signal strength in my area" webpage I should have no problems at all. This is central Bristol not the bloody outer hebrides.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
CptLucifer CptLucifer is offline
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 08-10-2010, 07:48 AM

My Streak suffers from the same problem, I found a thread on it a while back (can't remember where - just google it) so it seems to be a fairly common problem. It keeps happening while I am at home which makes no sense because there is an O2 tower about 2 minutes down the road. I also never experience any such problems with my iPhone which I had for 18 months with the same SIM card.
Reply With Quote

« Dell Streak Shortcuts! | Fact about Annoying Vibra »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016