Dell Streak Support Forum for Dell Streak owners to get help and support for their Streak.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Ind1 Ind1 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London - UK
Default Home Key – vibration - 07-22-2010, 10:23 AM

Hi Guys/Girls

Is there any setting to stop slight vibration that comes every time you touch home key, menu key or return key.

Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
grizlore grizlore is offline
Junior Member
grizlore's Avatar
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default 07-26-2010, 07:17 PM

I don't believe so

This is something I have been looking for and despite searching, I haven't found a solution
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Dunhamzzz Dunhamzzz is offline
Dunhamzzz's Avatar
Posts: 1,855
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Dunhamzzz
Default 07-27-2010, 10:16 AM

Ditto on this, makes it impossible to use the Streak in 100% silence

Please do not send me support requests via PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Ind1 Ind1 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London - UK
Default 07-28-2010, 10:53 AM

Cos, im rather fed up with Streak's "vibrations" -

If you unplug it the "wrong way! - it vibrates
If you tun the phone too fast, in the wrong direction - it vibrates
If you go from one app to a another - too fast - yep you guess it -vibrates
If you press the home key - it vibrates
Return key - vibrates

Is this is a female only devise -
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 07-28-2010, 06:34 PM

The home/menu/back keys vibrate for me, I don't get any of the other things at all.

I'd like to turn the vibrating off, and I've read elsewhere that it was possible to do in a 2.x update, and that currently not being able to (without rooting/hacking) is just a 1.6 normality.

Unfortunately they did also say that whilst it gave them the ability to turn off vibrating on those keys in 2.x it introduced it somewhere else that it couldn't be turned off again either, so it was like a trade-off.

We'll have to see, it wasn't a new post so I'm not even sure it was 2.2, and maybe Dell can weave some magic if enough people don't like it as-is. It's a bit of a shame that creating and deploying an app to handle some of these configuration aspects is disallowed (to non-rooted 'production' units) though.. that's the kind of dabbling I like to do directly on a device/computer when I can't get the answers I want from the supplied utilities. Seems to be a trend for phones to be locked down like this though so not unique to Streak, just a frustrating discovery to have made.
Reply With Quote

« adhoc wifi between streak and mini 9 (ubuntu hardy) | New dell streak user need some help. »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016