Dell Mini 9 OS X Discussion Discussion for installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini and Vostro A90

(#1) Old
Post Can't find mach_kernel etc - 05-21-2010, 07:30 PM

Before I had this problem, I did NBI method 3 0.83RC4 & that worked flawlessly. It was a no-brainer for me. Sure, I was nervous, but I managed to get that up & running. By the way, did I mention that I am a total noob to the Mac OS?

What was wrong with the DVD install was that sound was not working, which I found out had been fixed in 084RC1 (from reading the forum). So.... Off I went on my quest to try NBI method 2. Everything was going pretty okay & then I got an error to the effect of "Couldn't copy support files..." Shortly thereafter, I got the "Can't find mach_kernel" error that persisted for most of the day.

Long story short, I got NBI to load without the "Can't find mach_kernel" error by using ImageWriter for the small USB drive & using dd for windows for the Snow Leopard retail DVD. (nothing new)

There is a special note about ImageWriter, though.... I wrote the image to the USB stick MANY TIMES using my XP desktop PC which failed just as many times. Every time I opened ImageWriter, there was an error message that would pop up at startup (see attached). I'm used to seeing it because I've used the program for Ubuntu images & such, without any hubbub.

Each & every copy I downloaded would give the same error on XP.

I had installed Windows 7 on my other Mini 9 & when I wrote the NBI 084RC1 img file that I got off the forum to my Cruzer mini 256mb usb drive on it, all was well. (There was no error message.) I think the error message disappears with Vista, too, but I don't remember that too clearly.