Dell Mini 9 OS X Discussion Discussion for installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini and Vostro A90

(#1) Old
Default Tweaking my Dell Mini 9 with Snow Leopard installed - 05-04-2010, 11:23 AM

I am new to hackingtoshing but following a number of guides both on blogs, InsanelyMac and on this great site I have finally installed Snow Leopard on my Mini 9 with a runcore 32Gb SSD.
I have a number of questions which I cannot find the answer too or get conflicting advice, so hope that you guys can point me in the right direction.
1) I used NetbookBootMaker 0.8.3 (I am not sure what release as I cant find anything on the package) to install from a USB Hard drive. Everything appears to be working with the exception of Tap on the touchpad. I have not yet run NetbookInstaller as I am not sure if I need to unless this fixes the touchpad. The Wiki says run NetbookInstaller from safe mode, but I cannot appear to boot into safe mode by hitting any key when the dell mini progress bar is active. Do I need to run NetbookInstaller to unlock the touchpad drivers and can this be safely done within a normal boot of SL?

2) There is also some discussion about updating NetbookInstaller. Can this be done by downloading and installing the latest version? Do I have to remove the installed version first or just run the new package?

3) There are lots of conflicting views about updating to 10.6.3 as 10.6.2 was supposed to break support for the Atom processor! Is it safe to update to 10.6.3 using Apple updates or the combo update?

4) Finally I have a Dell Mini 9 with built in HSPDA modem(Ex Vodafone). Is there a generic Network Connection Manager for SL that works with the Dell HSPDA 3G modem?

many thanks
  (#2) Old
Default 05-04-2010, 05:17 PM