Dell Mini 9 OS X Discussion Discussion for installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini and Vostro A90

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Retiresoon Retiresoon is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default New member with Questions - 10-10-2009, 03:43 AM

I Have a Mini9 with a 8bg and a 32gb waiting and ready to install. A couple of questions on the requirements. I can't fine the GMA 950 on my system. Was there an older chip in older models of Mini. I bought mine from the Outlet recently, so I don't think it is that old.
Is the Mic active when the camera is active after the SL load? I would like to use IChat when I get SL loaded, assuming I get that far.
I don't have a MAC to load from, can I use other programs and prepare the USB drive, format my new 32SSD, and create my SL load from an XP machine? I have my retail copy, 8gb usb drive, an external USB DVD drive. What would be my easiest method given this situation?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
tchariya tchariya is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 346
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Default 10-10-2009, 05:45 PM

I have had no luck creating an SL USB thumbdrive image with WIndows. It can be done, but it doesnt appear to 'work' right.

I recommend mechdrew's method using another Mac to create your valid USB thumb drives (one to install the OSX and the other with upgrade software and meklur's NetbookInstaller app)

Mini 10v
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
ad720 ad720 is offline
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 10-10-2009, 06:38 PM

The easiest method might be the Dell EFI w/ external DVD method if you don't have another mac.

Keep in mind that if you are looking to use iChat AV that there are some issues with getting the mic and headphones working with 10.6.

Dell Mini 9, Alpine White, BIOS A05, 2gb RAM, 32gb SuperTalent SSD, 1.3mp, BT, 10.5.8
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Retiresoon Retiresoon is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 10-11-2009, 03:01 AM

Thanks Tchariya, I will give that consideration. AD720, does the Mic all tie together, even the mic built in as well as the plug in connection? I was afraid it affected the mic used by Ichat. I may have to wait until that is remedied and line up a Mac to built my USB drives.
Reply With Quote

« How do you reboot in safe mode? | Snow Leopard and Monolingual »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016