Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
sworsley sworsley is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default How to upgrade SSD - 10-22-2008, 11:00 PM

Ok, guys

I have bigger capcity SSD - so I have removed my old SSD and inserted new SSD obviously new SSD has no operating system.

So I start the 910 up, with an external USB CD drive plugged in by USB with the DELL "OPERATING SYSTEM" CD in already.

Here comes my problem:

Whilst 910 is starting, I hit "0" for boot options, then selectCD/DVD/CD-RW. Machine re-boots then shows:

Intel Indi. PCE-2.1
For realtek RTL ...
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE Rom
Invalid partition table

What am I doing wrong? Am I using the correct Disk?

Please help... Frustrated...
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
dhalbert dhalbert is offline
Posts: 60
Join Date: Sep 2008
Default Re: How to upgrade SSD - 10-24-2008, 02:01 AM

PXE boot is trying to boot off the network. What are the boot options? Is there one that says USB something?
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
UnaClocker UnaClocker is offline
Posts: 1,744
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olalla, WA
Send a message via AIM to UnaClocker Send a message via Yahoo to UnaClocker
Default Re: How to upgrade SSD - 10-24-2008, 03:29 PM

Almost seems this thread should be titled "How to boot off USB CD".. Maybe the drive you have is not compatible? I have an external USB DVD drive and have been unable to get it to boot of CD's, but it boots off DVD's just fine. Very strange really.

Tired of wondering if your Mini9 is doing ANYTHING? - Add a HDD Activity LED
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
sworsley sworsley is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: How to upgrade SSD - 11-01-2008, 12:21 PM

Sorted !

Was the external USB cd drive that was not working when the machine started up. Worked when XP was up and running, but did not work prior to XP.

I spent hours and hours trying to fix it! Solution: find another external CDROM with own power supply...
Reply With Quote

« GOOD NEWS ABOUT STEC 32GB SSD!!! | Anyway to reformat without an external cd/dvd drive? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016