Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
OblivianStudios OblivianStudios is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 3GB's+ RAM? - 01-11-2011, 02:26 AM

I have Mac OS X 10.6.6 installed on my Vostro A90, with 2GB's of RAM. Do the slots in the Mini 9 even support more than 2GB's of RAM? I know OS X supports more than 2GB's but if I spent the money would the performance increase at all?

I already have a 32GB Runcore SSD, besides RAM are there any other performance enhancers I could install?


Dell Vostro A90 w/ AWESOME Custom Apple Sticker; 32GB RunCore SSD; 2GB RAM; Webcam; Bluetooth; 10.6.3; 16GB Class 6 SDHC.

Note: To get sleep working I turned off BOTH Legacy and Wake Support.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
reflex reflex is offline
reflex's Avatar
Posts: 1,997
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 01-11-2011, 04:14 AM

The official max for the Mini 9 is a single 2GB module, and I'm not aware of anyone who has successfully managed to jam more in.

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
holmes4's Avatar
Posts: 6,157
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-11-2011, 04:31 AM

2GB is the max supported by the chipset and CPU.

Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Saratoga Saratoga is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default 03-25-2012, 09:53 AM

When you say 2GB is the max supported, is that within that upgrade slot lifting the total RAM to 3GB or can I only add another 1GB into that RAM slot.

I've seen a few posts regarding an upgrade to 2GB so I would assume it is possible but I would like to clarify what you meant

---------- Post added at 10:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 AM ----------

Right, I guess this clarifies it:

2GB Ram Upgrade Guide because I didn't realise that you had to remove the 1GB RAM from the slot before you put the 2GB one in
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
rrfranczak3's Avatar
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 03-25-2012, 12:24 PM

you remove the 1gb in there and replace it with a 2gb stick, there is only 1 (ONE) slot in the Mini 9 and like Steve has already told you, the max for the chipset is 2gb, be glad that you even have a slot, in my case I had to replace the entire daughterboard because on the 1010's (Mini 10) the processor and memory are SOLDERED on and you must replace the entire board to upgrade which is A LOT harder and MUCH more expensive than in your case.....

Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Saratoga Saratoga is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default 03-25-2012, 12:35 PM

Thanks for the clarification. I'd think it would still be much faster than my current laptop which is 700Mhz with 384mb RAM, 12GB HDD and with that vital bit of gear: RS232/Com port
Reply With Quote

« Integrated GPS on my Mini 9 | Dell Mini 9 Tablet project complete! (lots of pics) »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016