Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Suckaduck Suckaduck is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default WWAN switch - 02-21-2010, 01:50 PM

Does anybody know if the mainboard has unused/unsoldered connections for a (hardware) WWAN/WLAN switch? The Dell Mini 9 doesn't have a switch on the side next to the keyboard, but somehow mine thinks the WWAN is switched off since upgrading to bios A06...
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
holmes4's Avatar
Posts: 6,157
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-21-2010, 02:10 PM

There are other reports of this issue with A06. There s no spot for a hardware switch.

Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
donantox donantox is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: jakarta
Default 02-22-2010, 12:03 AM

like mine. What I did then, downgrade the bios back to 04. I've tried to 05 (provided in dell website) but the problem persist. I want to get to 05 but still wondering how ..
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Suckaduck Suckaduck is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 02-28-2010, 09:18 PM

Same here, no rollback with downgrading. So should be fixed in A07... hopefully.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
kaba kaba is offline
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Default 03-06-2010, 12:20 PM

I wonder if this is something peculiar to the Dell 5530 WWAN card and A06? I have a Verizon 720 card in my WWAN slot and didn't experience this problem after I'd upgraded to A06.

Mini 9=Black/64gb RunCore SSD/1.3 camera/Blue Tooth/2gb RAM/WAN Card Slot and running XP PRO
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Unchained Unchained is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nienburg, Germany
Default 03-07-2010, 10:18 AM

Had the same problem after upgrading my Mini 9 to BIOS A06.

After that I've downgraded my BIOS to shipped A04, loaded the default settings and installed the DELL 5530 A06 drivers. Everything is working fine again now with Vodafone's Dashboard.

My wifes Dell Mini 9 - 2GB RAM, 16GB SSD, BT, UMTS, Windows 7 - Vodafone Germany
Reply With Quote

« RunCore SSD speed comparisons (different models)? | WWAN area upgrades. »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016