Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

(#1) Old
Default Remapping the keyboard - 10-06-2008, 03:12 PM

I was incredibly unhappy with how the layout was on the keyboard. Thus, I decided to remap some keys: ... n-910.html

Let me know what you think. I'm just a lowly paramedic so my grammar and English may falter at points...
  (#2) Old
Default Re: Remapping the keyboard - 10-25-2008, 01:55 PM

Thanks for the link medicThree... you have helped with my sanity .. .I love the mini9, but as a fast typist it was proving big issue not having the ' where I was used to it being... your pics were a great help too...

what I did find though was that when I dowloaded the Microsoft file... there a help file (under the start menu),
in the folder: Microsoft Keyboard Layout creator it puts the .exe and the help file..

anyway, because I won't remember what I did, and may want to put it back how it was... I wrote it down step by step...
now I don't have the screen shots and great pics you have on your webpage... ... n-910.html

but here's my list of what I did to swap the ' and the ;

The keyboard mapper program is called the Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator (MSKLC) Version 1.3.4073 ... laylang=en

* dowload the file
* run the exe
* start menu / programs to access the Keyboard file
* press the key you want to change (for me it was the apostrophe ' key)
* press ENTER
* then press the key you want it to become (for me it was the
(otherwise find / work out the unicode and it can be typed in)
* click OK
{then I needed to make the ; the ' by...
{* press the ; key
{* press ENTER
{* then press '
{click OK

when you are finished making all of your changes/swaps
* go to FILE menu click SAVE SOURCE
* warning box appears "The name, description, language properties should be reviewed prior to performing this action, would you like to do this?"
* click YES
* in the name field... give your keyboard an 8 character name