Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Heinz Doofenshmirtz Heinz Doofenshmirtz is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Webcam Upgrade - 10-08-2009, 01:17 PM

Has anyone upgraded there .3 webcam to the 1.3? If so was there an apreciable difference?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
adriantannerisb adriantannerisb is offline
Senior Member
adriantannerisb's Avatar
Posts: 111
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: srbija
Default 10-08-2009, 02:12 PM

Originally Posted by Heinz Doofenshmirtz View Post
Has anyone upgraded there .3 webcam to the 1.3? If so was there an apreciable difference?
it is possible- i believe there are some threads about installing webcams that can be used, but it would require some work. the main deffference would be higher resolution, obviously.

Dell Vostro A90
16gb ssd
2gb RAM
BT+ .3 webcam
Windows 7 Ultimate Final
32gb sdhc card (Oh Yeah!)
Logitech VX nano
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
holmes4's Avatar
Posts: 6,157
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 10-08-2009, 03:04 PM

I have seen many people report that the 1.3mp camera performs worse in low light than the .3mp camera. I can at least attest that the 1.3 is bad with low light.

I suppose a lot depends on what you plan on doing with the webcam. For Skype, etc., the .3 is probably fine. The swap is straightforward, but does involve significant disassembly of the Mini.

Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
2-J 2-J is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 10-08-2009, 07:51 PM

there are pros and cons, I have used both the 0.3 and the 1.3 on different minis. Yes the 0.3 does seem to give better results in lower light conditions, but the lack of detail is sometimes noticeable on the 0.3 when compared to the 1.3, even running programs which use the cam at low resolution. This in my experience.

Black Mini 9: 64Gb Runcore SSD, Windows XP Home, 2Gb RAM, 1.3MP webcam, Bluetooth
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
strider_mt2k strider_mt2k is offline
Expert Member
strider_mt2k's Avatar
Posts: 867
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
Default 10-09-2009, 03:35 PM

I was also disappointed in the low light performance of the 1.3, so I run it at 0.3 by default now.
When DM9s went on sale and I ordered a backup, I just went with the 0.3 webcam.

Inspiron Duo: Win7 Pro 32-Bit, Intel 6200 Wifi Upgrade
Former Inspiron Mini 9 Owner, Modder, Enthusiast
Reply With Quote

« Possible CPU Upgrade??? | Quick keyboard measurement »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016