Dell Mini 9 Hardware Issues / Problems Inform everyone on any issues or problems with your Dell Mini 9 hardware.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
jmurphy410 jmurphy410 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 03-30-2012, 03:00 AM

My dell mini 9 64 GB Stec is revived and well. I had resigned myself to buying an expensive laptop or ultrabook replacement. Thank goodness I was fortunate enough to stumble on this thread today. Everything I had read preiviously had indicated this was an unrecoverable situation. Thanks thanks thanks!
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
jmurphy410 jmurphy410 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 03-31-2012, 03:35 PM

I celebrated too quickly on the rebirth of my mini9. The procedure did restore the drive to indicating its full 64GB capacity in the bios settings, but i am getting an input output error writing to disc when i try to re-install ubuntu. (i had been running 10.04 and am now trying to install 11.10) Back to the drawing board.
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
jmurphy410 jmurphy410 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 04-04-2012, 10:43 PM

Am I missing something or is the stec ssd dead even though it now shows the full 64 GB capacity?

---------- Post added at 10:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 PM ----------

I'm off to look for a used SSD in the for sale forum, thanks to all.
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
lswartz lswartz is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 479
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Default 04-05-2012, 08:20 PM

Did you try the disk utility before trying to install Ubuntu? It might confirm that your SSD needs to be replaced. A new SSD is pretty cheap now, but so are laptops - just a little big to carry around.

| Dell Mini 10v | Linux Lite |
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
ByteMe Networking ByteMe Networking is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Virginia
Default 04-20-2012, 04:30 AM

lswartz is on point with his response. After working with Linux for many years, when your HDD goes read only you have issues. Best thing to do is check it with something like gparted to verify the drive is not being flagged for failure.
Or if you already have Linux installed you can fsck to make sure the file system is intact.

I hope this information helps, and would like to know the outcome of your problem.

Quick TFTPD32 Win Setup PXE Boot To deploy Ubuntu 11.10
Change DHCP tab setting to fit your needs.
Check TFTP tab shows "Bind TFTP" as your deployment computer IP.

0MB SSD BIOS fix for Mini 9 Notebooks
Works for 8GB STEC and Higher SSDs
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
nikos-r nikos-r is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 04-24-2012, 06:05 PM

A big thanks from me too.
My 16Gb STEC was lying in a drawer for about 6 months before i found your fix.
In my case the procedure was a little bit trickier because i had to perform the fix three times before it worked (the first time it said that it cannot erase the volume, the second time it got stuck to 50%, the third time BINGO).
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
Nathanalmighty Nathanalmighty is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default 04-27-2012, 08:48 AM

Just posting to thank you all for the help and to share if anyone else finds this page on google.

I got ubuntu 12 to install but it would not boot up it going to black screen and saying no operating system found. The way I fixed this was going into the BIOS>Boot, go down to Hard Drive and press "Ctrl+Enter"(By default hides HDD list) if it shows something like "! STEC PATA 16GB-(RP)" than simply pressing "Shift+1" on it will enable it for booting, problem fixed(for me atleast).

I hope it helps someone else out there.
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
fredyd fredyd is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2009
Default 05-07-2012, 10:26 AM

My 16Gb STEC SSD was showing up with the correct capacity, but impossible to format. The STEC firmware update downloaded from Dell site upgraded the firmware but did not fix this.
The MicroCode Upgrade tool from this thread completely retored it! Thanks a lot!
The title of this thread is misleading, because:
- it seems to work with all SSD sizes (not just 8Gb)
- it may fix other issues than the "appears as 0mb in bios" - that was the case for me, at least.

Too bad I has bought a replacement SSD a few days ago from eb*y (a 16Gb Kingspec), but this will serve as spare.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
crawlingsnake crawlingsnake is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2012
Default 05-16-2012, 12:18 AM

Thanks dude. Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
rummy rummy is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default 06-02-2012, 05:03 AM


Thank you very much for this well-written thread, I used your instructions to resuscitate my friends 8GB SSD. Used WinToFlash to put XP back on it, applying updates now.

Reply With Quote

« dell mini 9 broadcom 802 not connected | SSD card mistake »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016