Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

(#1) Old
Default Mini 9 good for school? - 11-14-2008, 11:57 PM

New to the forum..I thought I'd ask those who have the mini 9 for advice. I've been looking at this netbook for a while but haven't made a decision on whether to get the Mini 9, or the Inspiron 13. I have a desktop so I don't need to download heavy apps. I would just use to 9 for research/web browsing, Messenger (Yahoo and MSN), and Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc). I'm a college student, so this would be used mainly for course work. Is the mini good for what I need it for? Or am I better off with the 13?
  (#2) Old
Default Re: Mini 9 good for school? - 11-15-2008, 12:07 AM

I think this would be perfect for you. That is what I use my Mini for (well, not school, the web/Office/chat) and it continually impresses. Plus, it'll fit nicely on a school desk and give you decent battery life.

Good luck as you choose.

Mini 9 | Black | 32GB RunCore SSD | 2GB RAM | .3MP cam
Windows 7 Home Premium
  (#3) Old
Default Re: Mini 9 good for school? - 11-15-2008, 01:01 AM

As much as I like my Mini 9 I could not recommend it for school if you do heavy typing. My hands are small and I still have a hard time getting any speed going on the mini keyboard. Just remember there is a difference between netbooks and laptops performance wise. Screen and keyboard size aside the mini is more of a "large screen" PDA IMHO, not a laptop replacement. Also a larger laptop is going to have better battery life. If your classrooms aren't full of power outlets this could be a challenge.

That said I've been carrying mine to work and the coffee shop for a week. in lieu of my three year old MacBookPro, and I'm generally I am not wanting surfing, e-mailing, IMing. It is not the size of the electronics it is what you do with it
  (#4) Old
Send a message via AIM to jeffburg
Default Re: Mini 9 good for school? - 11-15-2008, 01:38 AM