Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

(#1) Old
Default Mini 9 osx advice needed - 05-15-2009, 12:36 PM

Hello, I am a complete newbie to installing osx on a "Hackintosh". I have several questions. but before I ask them here is what I need. I have an imac--love it. What I want is a machine that I could travel with and use to sync with omnifocus and sync important files that I need to edit on the road. I want to install Omnifocus and Office 08 (mostly word and excel, I like use the outlining tools in Word heavily)

How well does the Mini 9 work for this purpose?
Is there anywhere that I could find a machine already "done"?
Or a mature stable easy to install software that I can use to install the macos disks that came with my imac?
Or a particular version number that works very well that I can download?

I don't want to spend lots of time hacking as I am a student and have a full time job.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  (#2) Old
Default 05-15-2009, 01:06 PM

1) This should really be in the OS X forum
2) Yes, the Mini 9 will work fine for that
3) You will need retail OS X discs, not OS-specific OEM (without some heavy mods that are beyond the scope)
4) See instructions in OS X forum. It's not difficult.
  (#3) Old
Default 05-15-2009, 01:08 PM

Hi, and welcome to the party! In the Mac OS X section of this forum you will find the answers to most of the questions. I am not sure about finding a machine done for you already, but it's possible. There are a few good tutorials here that can walk you through step by step, and most folks that have done it, have said it's taken about 3 hours or so.

Overall the Mini 9 seems to be the machine that's the easiest to "hackintosh"
  (#4) Old
Send a message via AIM to clymans Send a message via Yahoo to clymans
Default 05-15-2009, 03:49 PM