Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

(#1) Old
Default Mint - 04-16-2009, 02:27 PM

My mini 9 is running Dells Ubuntu. So far, I like it. I've run across Linux Mint and would like to try it. Bear with me, I'm still learning Ubuntu.

I've downloaded the Mint .iso and am staring at it. I would like to put this on a flash drive and boot up the mini 9 from the flash drive and try out Mint on the Mini 9. I've looked around for installing from a flash drive and have gotten lost when it says you have to be in a Linux environment to get the flash drive working. And also having to download another file to make the flash drive bootable.

Has anyone tried Mint on their mini 9? Can someone tell me or show me any easy way to make a bootable flash drive (in Windows) and use it on the mini 9?
  (#2) Old
Default Re: Mint - 04-16-2009, 02:31 PM

Maybe UNetBootin would work for you? Here's the link:

I've used it to install Ubuntu 8.10, but I don't have any experience with other distros.

Mini 9 (910): Cherry Red, N270, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB STEC SSD, XP Home
Mini 10v (1011): Passion Purple, N270, 1 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, XP Home
Inspiron 11z (1110): Passion Purple, SU4100, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Win7
Alienware M11x R1: Cosmic Black, SU7300, 4 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Win7
Latitude 2110: Blue Ribbon, N470, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Touchscreen, Win7
Zino HD (400): True Blue, Athlon X2 3250e, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Win7
Plus a few others not discussed here...
  (#3) Old
Default Re: Mint - 04-16-2009, 06:31 PM

Most distros have an option to install to flash drives and the Mini 9 is very linux friendly