Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Bartowski Bartowski is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Max SSD Size for Mini 9? - 01-12-2017, 07:14 PM

Hi All!

Just getting my old reliable Mini 9 back in service, and went to upgrade my HD to a 128GB Samsung, but couldn't even get it to boot to the Dell launch screen. Is there a max HD size that the BIOS will accept, or do I just have a dead SSD? I'm currently running A04 BIOS, may try to upgrade if it's worth it. Would love the input! Thanks!

-Bartowski


________________________
Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 32 GB SSD (stock) | 1.62 GHz Atom | Webcam | Bluetooth
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
VinTek VinTek is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default 01-13-2017, 08:51 PM

You may have the wrong type of SSD. So far as I've been able to Google, Samsung only makes an 128GB SSD with a SATA interface. The Dell Mini 9 uses IDE/PATA signal, so replacing it with a module with SATA signal won't work, although it will fit in the socket.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Bartowski Bartowski is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2009
Thumbs up Ha! - 01-14-2017, 12:14 AM

HA! Thanks a ton - I had no idea, figured with that type of connection, SATA was it! I'll make sure to find one that will work.


________________________
Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 32 GB SSD (stock) | 1.62 GHz Atom | Webcam | Bluetooth
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,164
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-14-2017, 10:14 PM

You need to find one that explicitly claims support for the Dell Mini 9, which used custom wiring of the MiniPCIe socket. I think nowadays Kingspec is about all you'll find.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Bartowski Bartowski is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 01-15-2017, 04:31 PM

Yessir - thank you. I found your thread from awhile back discussing it, after starting this one.
There is a Kingspec 64GB available, I'll be going that route. On a side note, how is Windows 10 working out for you? I'm debating on which OS to install once I get the new SDD.


________________________
Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 32 GB SSD (stock) | 1.62 GHz Atom | Webcam | Bluetooth
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,164
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-19-2017, 01:15 AM

Works fine last time I fired it up, but it's been a while.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Bartowski Bartowski is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 01-21-2017, 02:20 AM

I assume it was the 32 bit install, correct? I'm having trouble finding a disc or ISO of the 32, have plenty of 64s kicking around work. thoughts?


________________________
Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 32 GB SSD (stock) | 1.62 GHz Atom | Webcam | Bluetooth
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,164
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-21-2017, 04:26 PM

Yes, 32-bit. You'll need to get a 32-bit installer. I'm an MSDN subscriber so I have access to that.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
VinTek VinTek is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default 01-24-2017, 12:36 AM

I'm not sure I get the point of the whole exercise. It seems like the cost of SSD is more than the Mini 9 is worth these days. No matter what you do to it, you're bottlenecked by the speed of the N270 chip. I just picked up a Dell Latitude 2120 for $50, shipping included, and it has 2GB RAM, a 320GB HD, and an Atom N550 chip. The N550 clocks in at 1.5GHz, but it's dual-core, so it actually benchmarks about 90% faster than the N270. Even so, I can only make it usable by installing a lightweight Linux distro like WattOS on the thing.

My own Dell Mini 9 has only 1GB RAM and a 32GB SSD, but I can't see investing any more into it at this point.
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,164
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-24-2017, 08:02 PM

VinTek, that has been my position for a few years now, but some people are fond of the Mini9 and want to keep it going. I don't use mine anymore, and if it died I would simply say farewell to an old friend and move on.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Multitouch touchpad | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.