Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

(#1) Old
Default just ordered my mini 9, what next? - 01-16-2009, 03:58 AM

ok, so i just ordered my mini 9 16gb model. what next? what do i need in terms of flash memory, usb keys? things like that? how do i install programs on it if it does not have a cd drive? any help would be amazing, im new to the mini scene, but pretty computer literate.
  (#2) Old
Default Re: just ordered my mini 9, what next? - 01-16-2009, 04:15 AM

If you have another computer at home with a USB port and you own a 2GB USB flash drive then you can generally work around the lack of a cd-rom drive. Just copy your installation files to the flash drive on your other computer, then plug it into your mini to install them. What else you "need" really depends on how you plan on using the machine.

Remember - it's small and it is definitely not a desktop replacement. I have a 5 year old desktop as my main computer and I actually find the mini to be just as capable in nearly every usage. What I use it most for is watching Hulu in bed before going to sleep for the night, reading some pdf based books on my commute to and from work, and generally just screwing around on. I still do the vast majority of my web browsing and email on my desktop.

Bringing you quality hand made fitted sleeves for the Mini 9 since January
  (#3) Old
Default Re: just ordered my mini 9, what next? - 01-16-2009, 11:55 AM