Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
kpx0 kpx0 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Got new vostro a90.. is this normal? - 02-08-2010, 05:54 PM

i just got my refurb a90 from the dell outlet and fired it up.... some questions i have:

- the battery light does not come on at all, even when charging.. is this normal? is it only supposed to come on when low?

- when i first fired it up out of the box, i got a "No Loader" msg and nothing else... i have the ubuntu install... is that normal? im going to put win7 on it anywyas
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
rrfranczak3's Avatar
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 02-08-2010, 06:24 PM

if you're gonna reformat and load Win 7, dont even worry about it, I am not sure about the battery light though as where my Mini 10 the light goes off after its charged, its on when charging...

PS. Welcome to the forum..

Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
holmes4's Avatar
Posts: 6,157
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 02-08-2010, 07:36 PM

There are two lights on the A90/Mini 9. The left-hand white one comes on when powered on and, if powered off, while the battery is charging. The right-hand (yellow?) LED comes on only when the battery is low.

Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
mick4394 mick4394 is offline
Junior Member
mick4394's Avatar
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default 02-08-2010, 08:14 PM

When my a90 arrived last week, it had the loader error as well. If you're going to blow the OS anyway, I'd just go for it. That's what I did and haven't had any issues.

Vostro a90 | 0.3mp | 16GB | 1GB RAM | Windows XP
Dell Mini 9 | 0.3mp | 8GB | 1GB RAM | Windows XP
Reply With Quote

« Installing XP on Mini | How do I wipe SSD on a Mini 9? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016