Dell Mini 12 Forum for discussion on the discontinued Dell Inspiron Mini 12.

(#1) Old
Default Help Switching my Linux Mini 12 to XP Pro - 07-17-2009, 09:00 PM

I bought a Linux Mini 12 and currently have Ubuntu Netbook Remix installed. I initially bought it when my Mac Powerbook died. I didn't have enough cash to replace it with another Mac, so went with this Dell. I'm a web developer who just wanted a small, light and cheap notebook to take to meetings with clients so that I can show them various websites. I've been using the Mini for about 4mos and it's fine when I'm at home on my wifi network, but anytime I take it out, to coffee shops, etc... I have a very difficult time getting it to see and/or connect to their wifi. I don't have the time to screw around with it when meeting prospective clients, and it makes me look unprofessional. I need to be able to walk into an office / bar / coffee shop etc..., open the thing and be online. So... I'm thinking that I should switch it to XP. I despise all things M$, but at least I know my way around XP, and I'm willing to take whatever performance hit comes with it.

I only have the Ubuntu CD that shipped with the Mini. I have a Win XP Pro Volume Licensed Install CD (that can only be used on Dell equipment) which I got when I was a Dell reseller at my last job. I'm wondering whether or not that Dell OEM XP disc will work on this Mini, and whether or not I will need any specific drivers to get everything working. Basically... how much of a PITA is it going to be for me to switch this thing over to XP?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

(#2) Old
Send a message via MSN to notladstyle
Default 07-21-2009, 03:58 AM

It will work great, I installed xp on my mini 12 the first day I got it usind a dell restore disc. the performance is amazing compared to ubuntu and vista.

you can get the drivers you need from the dell support site.

do you have a usb cdrom drive for the install?
  (#3) Old
Default 07-28-2009, 06:00 AM