Dell Mini 10v Forum for all discussions and support on the Dell Mini 1011, also known as the Mini 10v. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mini 10v Mac OS X forum.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
geoffdellg geoffdellg is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Image HDD Problem - 01-16-2010, 10:48 AM

Hi All
Problem with new 'ootb' Mini 10v I wonder if there are any pointers.
I want to clone/image the HDD before I embark on a hackintosh journey.
First, all is working fine as supplied: Win 7, BT, WiFi etc.
I installed trial version of Acronis True Image 2010 Netbook Edition - don't get me wrong I'll buy it if it works - BUT - The Imaging to an external USB HDD went fine, three partiions (EFI? /Dell recovery/ OS); then I set up the Acronis bootable media prep to a USB stick, because of course if I did want to restore, this would be needed. There is the problem: The USB will not boot up on the 10v, it goes into a rebbooting 'loop' unil I stop it. However the same stick WILL boot up a friend's Mini 9 no problem.
Any one of you any good ideas? Thanks.

PS while chewing this over, my 2GB ram arrived (from Crucial) so I got that installed thanks to the guide posted here by malicious, it went sweet and improved Win 7 no end - why was it not an option from Dell?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
reflex reflex is offline
reflex's Avatar
Posts: 1,997
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 01-16-2010, 01:31 PM

I don't use Acronis, so I can't really help you there.

But the reason that netbooks are restricted to 1GB of RAM is due to Microsoft. To encourage the use of Vista/7, Microsoft only allows 1GB of RAM with XP.

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
holmes4's Avatar
Posts: 6,157
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-16-2010, 04:15 PM

Specifically, Microsoft allowed sale of netbooks with XP only if they had restricted configurations. There is nothing in XP itself that limits the RAM to 1GB.

Make sure that "Legacy USB" is On in the BIOS.

Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote

« 10v Backlight issues | Empty Slot in Mini 10v »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016