Dell Mini 10v Mac OS X Discussion Discussion dedicated to installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini 1011

(#1) Old
Question Help-new setup using NBI0.8.5pre great until not- - 12-16-2010, 11:45 PM

Hello -I'm new to all of this. I have a Dell mini 10v, and I used the NetbookInstaller0.8.5pre to make USB boot drive, using a retail version of the Mac OS X 10.6 DVD installer. Used the Gizmodo instructions: How To: Hackintosh a Dell Mini 10v Into the Ultimate Snow Leopard Netbook

Everything went fine, and it booted up into 10.6. I then ran the NBI again off the HD where I had copied it to, then ran Software Update & installed 10.6.5 update, plus iTunes and a few other things. Rebooted. Started up in verbose mode, ran for a bit, then eventually rebooted, into 10.6.5, and everything looked fine. Poked about some preferences, then installed a printer (I had unchecked all printer drivers in the original install), and was asked if I wanted to install the drivers for this printer, clicked yes, and then saw a window saying Software Update was looking/downloading new software. It finished and things still seemed to be working.

a bit later I noticed I wasn't connecting to the internet like I had been, a different USB drive I plugged in wouldn't recognize, so I rebooted-
and now all I can get is either an endless white screen with the grey apple & turning grey power-button looking circle if I boot from the HD, and the same if I boot from the Mac Install USBdrive, except that that will eventually go to a dark gray screen, but I am unable to access the prompt.

HELP! I've looked through the threads, and keep seeing "run the NBI again", but I can't figure out HOW to, since I can't get to any kind of CI prompt. I only get the option in Setup to choose either the USB drive or the HD; once I choose one I never get another chance to input anything.