Dell Mini 10v Mac OS X Discussion Discussion dedicated to installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini 1011

(#1) Old
Question I'm Behind... - 12-06-2010, 05:03 PM

Well I am not very tech savvy, and have not been keeping up on my updates like I should be. I'm still running 10.6 on my 10v, and have absolutely no idea how to update, except that my dad told me "Avoid 'System Update' like the plague." He used to take care of my computer queries, but since he passed away this year I have been very lost as to how to take care of my computer, and updating OSX. I tried (and failed) to understand the how-tos, so I was wondering if someone has a you-can-not-be-too-stupid-to-understand-this type of write-up for those of us less savvy than most.

My main question that I couldn't find an answer to is; Do I need to download each subsequent version of 10.6.-10.8, or can I just cut to the chase and go straight to 10.8? I have my back up of OSX on a USB Drive, but other than that I'm in the dark on what I need to do.

Thanks in advance guys and gals.
  (#2) Old
Default 12-06-2010, 09:37 PM

The current version is 10.6.5.

You can go straight from 10.6.0 to 10.6.5 by running this version of NBI-

Then download this Combo Update from Apple-
Mac OS X v10.6.5 Update (Combo)

Then, just to be sure, run the NBI again before rebooting.

When you reboot, it could take up to 20 minutes before you get back to your desktop, NBI will usually auto launch and you might see the NBI logo instead of the Apple logo, so don't freak out, and don't shut the computer off because it doesn't seem to be doing anything, it is.

If you have anymore questions, ask away, there is usually someone here that can help.

Mini 9 | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB Runcore | 2 GIGS RAM
10V | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351 |BIOS 06|160 GB|1 GIG RAM| 6 Cell Dell Battery
Functioning Hibernation

Back up Mini 9| OS X 10.6.7| NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB SuperTalent | 2 GIGS RAM
  (#3) Old