Dell Mini 10v Mac OS X Discussion Discussion dedicated to installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini 1011

(#1) Old
Default Video Mirroring - 05-05-2010, 01:59 AM

Hello! I just recently fitted the Dell Mini 10v with Mac OS 10.6.3. Everything has been running smoothly, with the exception of video mirroring, which I know that many people have commented about on this forum.

I am a teacher and would like to use my Mini with a projector with video mirroring. I have read up on how to downgrade the Appleintelframebuffer file and I have done that several times according to the directions on this message board. However, once I do that, programs such as Microsoft Word, iTunes, and other software apps exhibit odd behavior such as the cursor not being able to go over the screen without freezing and skipping.

While this doesn't sound like a big trade off (video mirroring for a minor inconvenience), I need to use Word every day. Has anyone had success with video mirroring using another method that does not affect these applications? Is there an update in the works for correcting video mirroring on this latest update of the NetbookInstaller? I have run extended desktop mode successfully, but it is not the optimal solution.

Thanks for all of the work that everyone has done and your help!
  (#2) Old
Default 05-05-2010, 04:09 PM

In my experience, I have never been able to get mirroring to work on a projector or external monitor. What do you need mirroring for specifically? I often give powerpoint presentations with my 10v and just use the extended desktop mode which works wonderfully. Is there a reason this mode won't work for what you are doing?