Dell Mini 10v Mac OS X Discussion Discussion dedicated to installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini 1011

(#1) Old
Default It works, Now What? - 04-14-2010, 02:41 AM

What a great forum, and a way to make my first experience, and first mac, awesome.

First, some background. I used mechdrew's guide, using an external dvd writer and Snow Leopard 10.6. I went to apple and did the combo update to 10.6.2. Still no problems.

Through searches, I found the fix for my audio problem (run the extras app!).

My next questions:
1) What's the best way to make a backup of what I've got. I'm new to mac in general, not just the hackintosh.
2) What's next? Should I install 10.6.3? Everything works in 10.6.2.
3) As far as I know, I am still using the .8.3 ISO that mechdrew had posted of NetbootmakerCD. (sorry for incorrect terms) Should I update to the latest NBI?

That's all I can think of for now, but seriously, without this forum and the step by step guides, never would have attempted this!

Dell Mini10v Bios A06 / SL 10.6.2---It just works!
  (#2) Old
Default 04-14-2010, 12:16 PM

i agree everything works fine for me in 10.6.2 is it worth it to upgrade?
  (#3) Old
Expert Member
Default 04-15-2010, 04:08 AM

I would wait until some of the kinks are worked out between NBI 0.8.4RC1 and 10.6.3 before updating. Hopefully RC2 will address some of the issues. Remember, you MUST upgrade NBI to 0.8.4 before updating to 10.6.3!

Dell Mini 10v | Mac OS X 10.6.2 | Windows 7 Professional | Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.10 | 1GB RAM | 160GB HDD | BIOS A05 | USB Legacy: OFF | USB Wake: OFF | BT: Enabled (self-installed BCM2046) | NBI 0.8.3 final
  (#4) Old
Default 04-15-2010, 06:19 AM

Originally Posted by tdogg0413 View Post
What's the best way to make a backup of what I've got.
congrats on the successful hackintosh, this is my first exposure to osx as well. this thread was fairly helpful when i hackintoshed my mini a month or two ago.

What are the "must have" applications for OS X?