Dell Mini 10v Mac OS X Discussion Discussion dedicated to installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini 1011

(#1) Old
Default "Install NBI" - How? - 02-15-2010, 08:49 PM

Hello everyone

As many others, I tried to update Snow Leopard without the latest NBI, now my 10v is on that dreaded boot loop.

I understand the solution is to create a new bootable USB, with the latest version of NBI, and my original Snow Leopard disc image.

This I can do no problem.

Where I am confused is when I need to "Install NBI once back in the mac OS."

If I am booting from the USB drive, how do I go about installing onto the HD? Will I lose everything I had saved on there?

I am completely new to this - if there is step by step out there somewhere, something a little more detailed than "just install NBI", I would be greatly appreciate being pointed towards it. Again, I understand the concept, just not sure how to actually carry it out without damaging my files.

(#2) Old
Default 02-15-2010, 08:56 PM

If you use NetbookMaker to make a bootable Snow Leopard USB drive simply boot into that and select your desired language. Instead of continuing with the installation of OS X click on the "Utilities" menu and select "NetbookInstaller". Then select the correct volume to run NBI on and you should be good to go -- no format necessary and everything should be exactly as you had left it.

mini9 | 32gb runcore | 2gb | osx 10.6.2 | nbi 0.8.3 | a05
  (#3) Old
Default 02-15-2010, 09:35 PM

Perfect! That is exactly the little step I was missing.

Thank you!
  (#4) Old
Expert Member
Default 02-15-2010, 10:59 PM